Resolved MBP unable to properly read Seagate 3 TB drive

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by umiwangu, Dec 8, 2012.

  1. umiwangu, Dec 8, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2012

    umiwangu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Malawi
    #1
    I bought a 3.5" Seagate 3 TB bare drive on Black Friday and I've just gotten to playing around with it. The only problem is, my MBP for some reason doesn't properly recognize it.

    I have three different external enclosures, and with each one, OS X says that it can't read the drive, do I want to initialize it? If I say yes, then it mounts it as an 800 GB drive.

    This is a July 2012 13.3" MBP, running 10.7.5.

    Is this an external enclosure issue (the chips can't read anything above 2TB?) or something with OS X? Or something with the drive?

    Thanks!
     
  2. meme1255 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #2
    Is it formated as MBR or GUID partion table? If MBR, try GUID :)
     
  3. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #3
    Without knowing what the enclosures are, it would be the first place I'd be looking. Many cap out at 2gb. From there as another pointed out, it would be drive formatting/partitioning type. What does Disk utility say it is if you attempt to repartition it?
     
  4. umiwangu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Malawi
    #4
    One of my "enclosures" is Thermaltake's BlacX ST0005U. I looked on Thermaltake's website and they don't say anything about drive size. I do know my WD Green 1.5 TB won't work in here, but I thought it wasn't size that was the issue.

    There are no partitions when I first plug it in. If I format it, it will only let me format up to 801.23 GBs.
     
  5. meme1255 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #5
    Try to format whole HDD to GUID, don't mind how many GBs are shown ;)
     
  6. umiwangu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Malawi
    #6
    Same thing. Limited to 801.23.

    It's interesting, even in the place where Disk Utility lists the drive, it has 801.57 GB as part of the name.
     
  7. meme1255 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Location:
    Czech Republic
  8. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #8
    "Supports All 2.5” & 3.5” SATA HDDs up to 2 TB! Dual data transfer connectors: eSATA + USB 2.0."

    There's your problem. Doesn't understand the drive geometry of a larger drive.

    That came from Thermaltake's link off Google. Looks when you go to the device page the new ones support larger drives. I Have the same one about a year old bought at BB, it max'es at 2gb.

    Amazon says 2gb too.
    http://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-B...&qid=1354993098&sr=8-1&keywords=blacx+st0005u
     
  9. umiwangu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Malawi
    #9
    Sure. I think it is an external enclosure issue though. I'm going to check with Thermaltake to see what they say.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. umiwangu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Malawi
    #10
    What the hell... I just looked on this page and it says in all capacities. Where did you find that?
     
  11. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #11
    I googled "BlacX ST0005U" and it was right there on Thermaltake's link. Then you go to the link and it says "all capacities". I'll bet $ they snuck an upgrade in and now they support it and the older ones don't.
     
  12. umiwangu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Malawi
    #12
    Yep, you're probably right. I think I got mine back in 2009/2010. I think all my enclosures are from back then. I guess there's probably no way to upgrade the firmware on it either.

    Oh well. If I remember, I'll try to post back when I get a newer enclosure.

    S
     
  13. umiwangu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Malawi
    #13
    I got an email back from Thermaltake saying they don't offer firmware upgrades on their BlacX products. I think instead of buying a 3 TB capable dock, I'm going to finally get a WHS box. Anyone interested in selling their Proliant N40L? I guess I could check in the Marketplace.

    Thanks guys!
     
  14. foto-max macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #14
    This is exactly the same predicament that I was in this week. Tried to format my new Seagate 3Tb internal drive via an older Thermaltake dock and disk utility would only format it to 800 Gb. I also have a newer Thermaltake dock which I then used and 'voila, it formatted correctly.
     
  15. umiwangu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Malawi
    #15
    What concerns me is that even the new docks state 3 TB as their max hard drive compatibility size. What happens when we get above 3 TB? Do we need to buy new docks?

    Also, when I stop to think about it, it's amazing that you can get a 3 TB drive for under $100 on sale, and just over 6 years ago, I spent about that much on a 1 TB drive.
     

Share This Page