MBP v Macbook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by LifeCerealRocks, Jul 12, 2008.

1. LifeCerealRocks macrumors member

Hey guys,

I'm new to posting to the forums, but have been a long time reader. I had a few questions regarding a future purchase of either a macbook or macbook pro. I am a college student and would be receiving the apple education discount. I was wondering the following:

a) What the benefit of having one over the other would be?
    b) Should I wait to purchase, seeing how their product cycle is ending soon (I start school on the 26th of August)

This is off-topic, but I just spent the better half of the last 2 hours reading the mac fraud thing, and was wondering if they ever caught the dude?

2. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

ucfgrad93

When I got my MBP, I had the same debate as you. I chose the MBP mainly for the larger screen. I would wait until the beginning of August to order. You want to make sure that you get it in time to go off to college.

3. effer macrumors member

Using both, I find the MBP's screen superior. The viewing angle on the MB is very acute, and I find it really annoying.

4. PCMacUser macrumors 68000

PCMacUser

Buy the MBP if you need a larger screen (and option of matte finish), powerful graphics chipset (handy for gaming), and expresscard slot.

Otherwise, get a Macbook. In terms of day to day performance, the Macbook is the same as a MBP.

And I'd be surprised if Apple release an update to either of these models before the end of August, so you may as well buy now.

5. eXan macrumors 601

eXan

Depends on you needs and budget, but I'd go for the MBP because of larger and better screen, powerful graphics, metal body and keyboard backlighting :)

6. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13

If you have a need for extreme graphics performance, that is to say that if you play 3D games regularly, do 3D modelling or edit movies, you should go with the Pro.