MBP vs. Asus M50 Architecture

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by nbpt15, Aug 18, 2008.

1. nbpt15 macrumors newbie

I am a 2nd year student in an Architecture major who is looking at buying a new computer and can't decide on what to get. I have around $2,500 to spend and need a computer that will last me through grad school.

I am currently stuck between the MBP 15" 2.5 Ghz with the 72k hard drive

or

the Asus M50 with
    -Intel Core™ 2 Duo T7100~T7700 Processor, nVIDIA GeForce 9500M GS with 512MB VRAM (M50SV)

Opinions on the Asus computers because I don't know that much about them. Sugestions, rants, raves, etc. about either the Asus M50 compared to the MBP are welcome! I need help!

Thanks!

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

You're comparing more than the Asus vs the MBP. You're comparing Windows Vista or XP vs Mac OS X. Hardware is nothing without the operating system. However, if your major is Architecture, you may be planning to use AutoCAD, which only runs on Windows.

3. dibara2003 macrumors 6502

if you like the looks of the mbp and like OSX, then get the mbp. You can always put windows and dual boot if needed. Also, you can get the mbp for $2000 + $100 (enrollment) through the student adc program. Saves you enough money and you can purchase windows under the $2500 price limit you set.

4. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

5. valvehead macrumors regular

That's funny. I know two professional architects who have no trouble running AutoCAD and Revit on their MBPs. The vast majority of their time is spent drawing lines and moving objects; GPU acceleration has little effect on that. Intense rendering is done on a workstation, not a laptop.

6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

If they're running AutoCAD on a MBP, it's in Boot Camp, running in Windows. AutoCAD isn't available for Mac OS X.

7. valvehead macrumors regular