MBP Water Dripping sound

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by view2darrel, Feb 19, 2013.

1. view2darrel macrumors member

hi guys. i have MBP 13" entry level (non retina).

i drop it from knee level height (actually my mbp slip on my bed bottom facing the floor) and now it has a dripping water sound (cant think of any other sound) like a "tik" or "tok" sound every two minute or so.

ive research a bit and found out it may be a hard drive problem. what do you think guys? anyone knows how to fix this? like a loosen screw or something.

if its a hard drive problem im planning to buy an SSD. 128 or 256 Gb variant. (ive read 256 performs better)

im planning to buy a affordable and reliable ssd that will last a minimum of 2years. since im new to ssd is it difficult to maintain? like trim etc.

im gonna use it for surfing , documents iphoto imovie and office works. i have games like call of duty diablo 3 and a frequent gamer. does gaming will teardown the performance and lifespan of SSD? if so maybe ill not gonna include games on SSD.

my budget 200-300 dollars.

thanks in advance

2. jclardy macrumors 68040

jclardy

If you have any important data I would back it up somewhere now.

As for the SSD, games shouldn't be an issue because for the most part they will just be reading their data from the drive, not modifying it other than save files which are small in comparison to the size of a game.

3. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

It does sound like the drop affected your HDD. I would back up your data immediately if you haven't been doing that.

For SSDs, most of the ones available on the market are fine for your use. Apart from save files, games do not normally write to your drive. I have a 5 year old SSD that's been in gaming computer and it has never failed once.

The best choices these days seem to the Samsung 840 series. For $175 you can buy a 250GB Samsung 840 which is more than sufficient to last you a couple years.