MBP wifi Connection!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by WillEH, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. WillEH macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Just did this.. [​IMG]

    Yet my connection is horrible. Pages take ages to load, sometimes they don't load. It's getting really annoying. Supposed to have A+ broadband, yet I can't load a page without it refusing to load? what's the issue? Do I need one of these extreme airport stations?

    I have an i7 2.2, 8GB, 2011 MBP. 15"..

    Help =(
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Do you connect wirelessly? All sort of interference could be causing issues. Try connecting with a cable and see if it makes any difference.
     
  3. WillEH thread starter macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Hey Mat, forgot to mention. When I connect with ethernet cable, it's much much better. :)
     
  4. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Sounds like it's a WiFi problem then.

    Download http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/10133/kismac ad see what channels surrounding WiFi signals are. For example your router might be transmitting on channel 7, but so is next door and upstairs. By changing the channel to 11 suddenly the interference is gone.
     
  5. WillEH thread starter macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    I have 2 other people on the same channel as me, channel 1. What now? :)
     
  6. WillEH thread starter macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Okay, think I worked it out... I set up time capsule network, my internet is now super fast :)
     
  7. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    You seemed to have sorted yourself out now. All you needed to do was change the channel.
     
  8. WillEH thread starter macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    I'm testing it, it's up and down.. I'll report back later :) zzz
     

Share This Page