MBP, Win XP SP 1, BootCamp, REFit

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by dell500, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. dell500 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #1
    :eek:So...

    This is my first post. And I seemed to completely F my comp up.:D

    I have Leopard installed, then installed REFit to reboot and isntall Windows via Bootcamp. Installation formats the partition dedicated to windows (long story short, i accidently erased my old WIndows partition with Time Machine). I though it might be a good idea to try and install WinXP via SP1, not SP2. Def. not the best one I've had in a while. Anyway, everything installs and it's fine. Only problem now is that I can't use any of the boot hotkeys like C, D, Opt+Cmd+Shft+Del, or X to get into MacOS X again so I can delete the partition and then reinstall windows with a slipstream disc of XP-SP2 disc...

    :apple:What the heck am I suppose to do?:apple::confused:

    I've tried using my old restore discs for the MBP and my Leopard disc... The numlock and capslock don't turn on when the computer first starts up either... What should I do?!!!:confused:

    Thanks for any help,
    dell
     
  2. mackindergarten macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #2
    Hi,

    did you try to use a different keyboard?

    I remember in Windows you could set the default startup disk (or was it partition). But don't ask me where, it's too long time I had to deal with this stuff.

    /Rupert
     
  3. dell500 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #3
    I actually did try my friend's USB Dynex keyboard. It kinda freaked out when loading and still was unresponsive on boot. The computer seems to not recognize the keyboard then once in the bootloader for windows, it starts to work (ie. caps lock light turns on, keyboard becomes responsive after grey boot screen). I'm gonna bring it to the mac store and see what they can do. I have 3 tests and 2 papers to write, so I gotta figure this out ASAP...

    dell
     
  4. izibo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    #4
    You need SP2 as listed in the requirements for bootcamp. You may try updating to SP2 and then reinstalling bootcamp drivers.

    I would, personally, get a Mac OS X CD: boot from there, and repartition the entire hard drive. Then start from scratch.
     
  5. dell500 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #5
    So the problem has been avoided. Brought the comp to the Ap. store and all he did was hold and press Alt/Opt key while booting. Booted into some boot loader and voila. Chose Mac OSX partition and problem avoided.

    Hope this helps anyone...

    dell
     
  6. SVT Amateur macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #6
    Yeah, the alt (option) key is the one you press to load up the boot screen. I'm surprised nobody told you this already or you didn't see this in boot camp help.
     

Share This Page