MBP won't boot with new HDD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Dunkrag, May 5, 2011.

  1. Dunkrag macrumors regular

    Dunkrag

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #1
    Help.

    Just put a new HDD (Seagate Momentus 750gb) into my Nov' 2010 15'' MBP.

    Everything backed up with TM before switching the discs.
    Drive swapped out no problem.

    Turn on MBP and insert Snow Leopard disc expecting it to boot far enough for me to get into Disk Utility so I can format and restore.

    MBP turns on, goes to folder/question mark, which turns into Apple logo upon insertion of the SL disc. But that is as far as it gets, just hangs on the Apple logo screen indefinitely.

    Have I done something wrong? How do I get past this screen?
     
  2. uplusd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #2
    hold down option right away when booting up and then select to boot off the disc

    holla
     
  3. Dunkrag thread starter macrumors regular

    Dunkrag

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #3
    Thanks.

    I've done this and click the disc icon and it still gets no further than just sitting on the apple logo. Disc drive is just not spinning at all.
     
  4. SideStepSociety macrumors 6502

    SideStepSociety

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    If the disc drive isn't spinning at all, it sounds like a failing/failed drive to me. Or if you're lucky, just loose/unplugged. Was it working before the swap?

    If you're near another Mac, you can clone your SL disc to a USB drive and boot to that.
     
  5. Dunkrag thread starter macrumors regular

    Dunkrag

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #5
    Think I have it sorted.

    Used a different disc. I was using a bought Snow Leopard disc (that I used for my iMac) and not the OSX SL install disc from my Original MacBook box.

    Seems to be running now - 8 hours to restore from TM. :|

    Thanks for the replies.
     
  6. SideStepSociety macrumors 6502

    SideStepSociety

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #6
    Awesome, good to hear!

    It seems Time Machine restore estimates are a little off. I've had mine report "2 hours left" then all of a sudden it would finish. But this of course depends on how much stuff you have.
     

Share This Page