MBP won't wake from sleep

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by linds900, Jul 10, 2014.

1. linds900 macrumors newbie

Hi. I'm a new member, totally a noob here and sometimes tech dumb (which is why I have a mac in the first place).

Lately my mac started to not wake from sleep. I can click the keyboard, swipe the trackpad, and try to hard reset the power button all I want, but nothing works. Generally, I close it and put it aside for a few minutes, then pick it up and try it all over again until I get *some* sort of response. It's taken several minutes of this where before it was immediate to sign in and start up.

Usually, I only sleep the computer. I'm going to shut it down tonight and hope it lives again.

Last time I was in a mac store, they said my battery needed servicing, but that it wasn't so bad that I needed to replace it immediately (and I didn't want to cough up the $120 either). I haven't myself noticed an appreciable difference in run time.

I'm leery about the PRAM memory shortcuts, since I'm not sure what they do yet, so I've not tried them. I have a great deal of sensitive material on my mac that I absolutely cannot lose, even when I'm keeping up with harddrive backups.

People who know computers––halp.

2. brdeveloper, Jul 10, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 11, 2014

brdeveloper macrumors 68020

brdeveloper

The PRAM reset usually doesn't nothing harmful, it just bring back some settings to factory defaults. I had this with my Mini after upgrading RAM and a SSD. It wouldn't wake at all, but I got a black background with a swirling and movable beach ball of death.

I think that what worked was checking/repairing permissions on Disk Utility. Maybe when I migrate to the SSD some data was write protected. But I also did the PRAM reset... really don't know what exactly made it wake up properly again.

3. linds900 thread starter macrumors newbie