MBP & WoW

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by zepharus, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. zepharus macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
  2. design-is macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #2
    very good question... my MBP arrives soon and I plan on keeping all my gaming to windows. Is there likely to be any drawbacks to this?

    but maybe this would be better suited in the 'games on mac' or 'windows on mac' threads?
     
  3. zepharus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #3
    Perhaps both.. but im curious as to the MBP not other machines.
     
  4. aforty macrumors 65816

    aforty

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #4
    I don't play WoW but as a general notion, I think I'd go with the Mac client. I mean the game isn't that demanding graphically, so what little advantage a Windows client might get in performance (again that might be some bias there) would be negligible at best. Plus with the Mac client, you won't have to leave the beauty that is OSX ;)
     
  5. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #5
    Mac and Windows Client on same CD. I run the Mac Client and it runs very well with my MBP and 2G Ram...

    Bill.....:apple:
     
  6. limeybast macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #6
    Mac client so you get the iTunes controls and movie recording. (Plus the Blizzard Mac Forums and associated CM's are so much better than the windows ones)

    Given that the MBP is more powerful than my Dual G5 and the G5 runs WoW at 2560x1600 on the 30" ACD, performance isn't a problem at all.
     
  7. Milfin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #7
    I'm using Mac Version.
    As someone else stated the itunes / movie recording is really nice.


    I don't play music while playing but the recording feature is great to capture arena games. I set it up for high resolution and had no lag. Plus after you stop your recording it converts the video while your playing.

    I just switched over from Windows to Mac last week so I'm still learning all the hot keys. felt kinda stupid spamming in orgimarr how do I Alt+Tab on a MAC. lol


    If you have questions pm me.
     
  8. bbotte macrumors 65816

    bbotte

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    I have a buddy who plays on his MBP and gets really frustrated. Every time he gets to a certain point in the game it locks up. He says it is because of the ****** video card in the MBP.
     
  9. design-is macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #9
    Do all the add ons and mods that are available to windows WoW work the same on the mac client? Do you need to download a different version? or do the same files work?

    And what this about movie recording?

    Thanks for info all :)
     
  10. MascisMan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #10
    Which videocard does he have in the MBP?
     
  11. Animalk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
    #11
    Apparently, the the game runs significantly better through Windows then through OS X. I play it through OS X and I'm doing alright but its quite obvious that it is not taking complete advantage of the hardware for whatever reasons.

    I highly suggest you take a look into the official World of Warcraft Mac Support Forums so you get a sense of what kind of problems and performance issues people may be having.
     
  12. oseary macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Columbia, MO
    #12
    They do work the same... The awesome thing about Bliz is that they developed the clients alongside each other (and have since the original Warcraft days) so that every addon works in the same directory as it does on the PC version.

    interface-->addons

    I used the Windows client for a year or so, then switched when I got my MBP and dumped my Win box (gave it to my bro), and found that I can WoW with the same settings (I have all mine maxed) I had on my PC, and the game runs the same... even connecting to my wireless (n) connection from when I'm sitting in my living room a level below.

    I didn't know you could record video though, I'm gonna have some fun with that! :)
     
  13. design-is macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #13
    cool thanks very much :)
     
  14. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    I know that I can get better performance on the Windows side of things but...
    1) I don't want to reboot into Windows when I can get acceptable performance in Mac OS.
    2) I like the ability to Cmd-M out of full screen to go to windowed when I need to do something else.
    3) Everything else I use is already in Mac OS so it is more cumbersome to play in Windows and try to get other things done as well.

    Now, if I am going to be raiding or spending a lot of time in a CPU/GPU intensive area, I will consider playing in Windows instead of Mac OS.
     
  15. RUFiO795 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #15
    I run WOW in OSX on my Macbook Pro and haven't had any performance issues...I have all of the graphics and video processing cranked all the way up and it runs perfectly smoothly and looks beautiful. The only thing I've noticed is an almost total absence of weather effects, but this may be just because I haven't come across any (I am assured that they are simply very rare for some reason).

    I haven't played WOW on Windows before, though, so I don't know how it compares.
     
  16. dumb terminal macrumors member

    dumb terminal

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #16
    I play WoW on my MBP (Penryn), and don't have any problems. I'm still trying to remap my hotkeys that I had on my G4, but so far, so good :cool: The only compliant I have so far is that's its somewhat uncomfortable using the keyboard for long periods of time (especially when I have all my spells keyed).

    And as has already been stated, the ingame iTunes control and movie recording is more reason to use the Mac version.
     
  17. luffx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    WI
    #17
    Mac Client for one major reason....

    So you don't get wicky-wacked by a keylogger and log into your account the next morning to find all of yer phat purplz were sharded.



    [​IMG]
     
  18. kwjohns macrumors 6502a

    kwjohns

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #18
    What is this recording feature everyone keeps talking about besides SnapzProX?
     
  19. dumb terminal macrumors member

    dumb terminal

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #19
    It works kinda like Fraps on Windows...it'll record your gameplay into a movie...I don't remember exactly what format it uses, but I think it saves it in QT format (.mov?) I haven't used it yet, so I don't know the specifics
     
  20. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #20
    Play it on OSX, I played it on a core duo 1.83ghz just fine and now the new mbp can handle it with ease!:D
     
  21. SSerino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #21
    I played WOW on my new Penryn 2.4 with all the settings to the max, 1600/1050 on my external monitor, and I was getting like 20-30 fps. If I turned off "Spectacle lighting" I think it was called, I was getting a constant 50-60, even in cities. The new MBP plays wow perfect.
     
  22. zepharus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #22
    LOL PM me Im curious about al the hotkeys
     
  23. Cudadown macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
  24. paleck macrumors 6502a

    paleck

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    with the Tequila!
    #24
    My macbook pro averages 60fps in open areas and 30 in the major cities. I have the details, etc turned all the way up.
     
  25. tast01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #25
    for anyone that uses teamspeak/ventrilo with wow

    Im not sure if this is an issue anymore, but I think i remember some Ventrilo codecs could not run on Mac...anyone know?
     

Share This Page