MBPR Experience

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Aragorn234, Jun 21, 2012.

1. Aragorn234 macrumors member

I am making the final move from Windows to Mac.
    I always knew it would ba an expensive exercise to replace all my PC gear and move to a single device. That is why I went for the MBPR. however I am really struggling with the justification of a $3000 purchase.

I do have Apple computers (wife has a 27 inch iMac, I have a work supplied MBA). However my personal machines have always been Windows based machines.

How long can I expect to get from a MBPR?
    MY USAGE IS LIGHT GAMING (BF3, Diablo 3 - happy with gaming on medium settings)
    some video editing (Home movies)
    Web browsing
    Photo editing (Lightroom & Photoshop)
    What would the expected resell value be after 2 - 3 years?

I am looking to go with the top of the line (stock) MBPR.

2. Panini macrumors regular

Just curious, if BF3 is "light" gaming, what do you consider heavy?

3. Southernboyj macrumors 68000

Southernboyj

Farmville.

4. cliff.berinti macrumors newbie

I just bit the bullet and bought the base MBPR today in order to move off of my PC which has been my primary platform for years. I'm a pretty heavy gamer and will be bootcamping it to allow to continue with my addiction. I should be able to report shortly (should arrive in about a week) on how well the transition went for me. This provides nothing to you, but I feel the MBP is finally at the level of replacing a PC gaming rig. It might now play games on the highest of settings, but I think I will get by just fine. I just need to wait for the new TB display to come out with the new power adapter because I know I'll get sick of being on a 15" screen 24/7 after being spoiled with multiple monitors at home and work of much larger size.

5. Aragorn234 thread starter macrumors member

The way I see it gaming is not determined by the type of games played but the time spent playing them.