MBPr i7 not as powerful as imac i5?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sorun, Jan 14, 2015.

  1. sorun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    #1
    I recently bought a macbook pro retina i7 2.7, 16G, 500G SSD and just moved everything to it from my 2011 imac, but surprisingly, when I open the same project in the same version of Logic pro, I found that it consumed more cpu power than the my old imac :eek:(based on the cpu indicator in Logic).... The imac is with 2.7G i5, 12G, 1T non-ssd, and I am wondering is it possible? Or is there anything wrong with my MBPr?

    The imac is on OS X 10.8 and MBPr is on Yosemite.
     
  2. locksmack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    #2
    Dual core vs Quad core?

    I don't think there is a 2.7ghz i7 currently offered in any of the MBPs?
     
  3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #3
    Well you can't expect a dual core i7 to outperform a quad core i5...

    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench3/compare/1595643?baseline=662379

    2.8GHz i7-4558U (dual core in my late-2013 13" rMBP) vs a 2.7GHz i5-2400 in the mid-2011 27" iMac.

    In single core tasks, my rMBP is faster, but not in multicore tasks.

    However, when comparing between quad core i5s and quad core i7s, even a lower-clocked i7 performs a fair bit faster than a higher-clocked i5, because the i7 has hyper threading. Desktop i5s don't have hyper threading.

    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench3/compare/1507487?baseline=1665956
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Yep, thanks to the higher core count your iMac will handle multi-threaded apps like Logic a lot faster then your rMBP
     
  5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    On a side note, the OP has a quad core i5 on the 2011 iMac and dual core i7 on the rMBP.

    Although both processor have 4 threads, a physical core will always be faster than a virtual core (thread).
     
  6. Crugga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #6
    Which version of logic do you have and which OS on both machines?, in my experience Logic 9 is useless in Yosemite, ive actually got a partition on my drive running Mavericks just for Logic. I might upgrade to the later one in time.
     
  7. sorun thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    #7
    Thanks for the comments guys! It is a 2012 Macbook pro retina 15 i7 2.7G, not a current model, I just checked the total number of cores is 4, same as the iMac. :(

    To Crugga: it is logic pro 9 and it is yosemite on MBP and 10.8 on iMac, what problems do you have on Yosemite? I haven't had any other problem yet except the higher cpu consumption. I think imac consumes like 10% cpu while sometimes it looks like 30% on Macbook pro.
     
  8. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #8
    In that case, your 2.7GHz i7-3820QM is significantly more powerful than the i5-2400 in your iMac.

    Remember that 100% raw CPU power is actually 400% on your iMac and 800% on your MacBook Pro when viewed through Activity Monitor in both cases.

    The iMac doesn't have hyper threading.

    So 30% on the iMac would be 7.5% of the i5's full power, and 30% on the rMBP would be 3.75% of the i7's full power. So given the same values in Act Mon, the rMBP is using less resources.

    As seen here: http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench3/compare/1125745?baseline=1357931
     
  9. Crugga, Jan 16, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2015

    Crugga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #9

    Its just useless. Sky high cpu after more than a few channels, locking up and freezing. Thats on a late 2013 top of the range 15" machine.

    Yosemite does not support Logic 9 in anyway and it really shows Mountain lion to Mavericks was fine on my far less powerfull machine but this time not good, as I say I put a partition on my drive to install Mavericks just to run Logic 9 on. Yosemite will not run Logic 9 well.

    You could put Mavericks on which could be tricky, really i'd just get Logic 10 which im sure will run perfect. I will be as soon as ive got a spare £140.

    Forget about the procsessor issues, I was running a dualcore 2ghz 2010 13" before this and it ran Logic 9 absolutely fine with a load of non apple pluggins, fair enough there were limits but you should be able to push it pretty hard on your machine. Logic does use all the cores. Yosemite is the problem, i'd put my parents life on it.
     

Share This Page