MBPR: iGPU vs. dGPU (15" 2014)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Lukewarmwinner, Sep 1, 2014.

1. Lukewarmwinner macrumors 6502

I'm leaning towards purchasing the new 2014 MBPr, since the iMac hasn't been updated in a while and seems a bit outdated.

I do video editing for a living and actually I've used my Air some times (what a pain..) and really misses some more power when editing in Premiere.

Which is why the 15" seems reasonable. Although, I really can't decide whether or not to go with the more expensive dGPU or the entry-model iGPU. My first choice (due to my economic state) would be the iGPU with 2.5 ghz for 2099$ to match the high-end model cpu.

Would I notice the missing dGPU when editing and rendering in Premiere? I've searched the web and the consensus seems to be, that if you do a lot of 3D editing or After Effects, the dGPU would be necessary. But what about editing and rendering?

I'm from Europe, so the price difference between the two models comes out to 530$ - I know about the double hard drive, but I'm using externals.

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Take a look at this post It has a YT video detailing the performance differences between the iGPU and dGPU.

I'd say for most things the iGPU will be more then up to snuff, but I don't edit videos so I'll defer to the others who have more experience in that sector.

3. Lukewarmwinner thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks - I'll have a look

And if others have experience with the differences, please contribute :)

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

FWIW, for my next MBP, I'll be getting a iGPU only model, thanks to the improvements seen in Iris Pro. :)

5. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

Mr. Retrofire

...and because you do not like the failing dGPUs. :)

6. Wuiffi macrumors 6502a

Wuiffi