MBP's shared video RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iSax1234, Apr 13, 2010.

  1. iSax1234 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #1
    The video card has its own dedicated memory correct?

    With 48 processing cores and up to 512MB of dedicated video memory,

    Straight off the site
     
  2. Kevlar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Great White North
    #2
    15" and 17" has dedicated 256/515mb depending on build. 13" is an integrated card.
     
  3. Zok macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    #3
    13" uses shared memory

    15" uses either 256 or 512 MB of dedicated video memory
     
  4. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #4
    Except when running in crappy (Intel) GPU mode...then it shares system memory too, just like the 13".
     
  5. Zok macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    #5
    True, but it's bound to be minimal. If an app is requiring a large amount of graphics memory, it's likely to be using the dedicated GPU.

    I could be wrong, however, but that would seem logical. We'll see once more get out in the wild.
     
  6. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #6
    Yes, you are probably right. If Apple's GPU switching technology is well designed, it should switch over when more VRAM is necessary.
     
  7. nconnella macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #7
    Anyone know how the Intel HD Graphics compare to the 9400m? Just wondering if this is a downgrade compared to the last gen when not using the dedicated card.
     
  8. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #8
    The Intel HD is very similar to the 9400m in terms of performance. It is slightly better at some tasks, and slightly worse at others. Overall it should offer identical or slightly better performance.
     
  9. iSax1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    Alright thanks guys I thought so, but I was reading something and got a little confused. I believe that the automatic graphics changing should switch when sees the need for more power, isn't this the point haha?
     
  10. Cali3350 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #10
    Its actually dependent on the App. The driver looks at the .exe (or osx executable) running and checks to see if its in a database. It has nothing to do with load.
     

Share This Page