MBR boots up to blank screen under Mountain Lion

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by NJRonbo, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. NJRonbo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #1
    Have had my Macbook Retina Pro since release week in June.

    Been working fine. However, after upgrading to Mountain Lion, I have had more than a few bootups where after entering my password, the screen goes to black.

    Anyone else experiencing this problem?

    It's happening at random, so trying to duplicate the problem every time will be difficult.
     
  2. pinoy4065 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #2
    I'm having the same problem as you with my retina mbp with mountain lion
     
  3. Collin789 macrumors regular

    Collin789

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #3
    The past few times I woke the computer from sleep, there would be a white screen for several seconds.
     
  4. kbuck1984 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #4
    Mine does this a few times in a row when I go from Windows bootcamp to OS.
     
  5. alphaone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    #5
    I'm getting this too. It seems to happen every time when rebooting into OSX from windows. The way to fix it is to reboot into OSX safe mode (by holding down the shift key while booting), and go into energy saver prefs and turn automatic graphics switching back on.

    Super annoying and sloppy bug...
     
  6. pacman7331 macrumors regular

    pacman7331

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #6
    happened to me after getting the SMC update for ML but i just forced restart and luckily now it works..
     
  7. Ismo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    #7
    I got this first time just a while ago. System was working (sounds from volume keys) but display was just black. Looks like a bug in graphics drivers indeed.
     
  8. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #8
    Called Apple Care on this issue and they have logged it.

    They suggested anyone that has this problem go to...

    apple.com/feedback

    (Select Macbook Pro)

    The more people that report this problem the better chance a quicker firmware fix may be issued.
     
  9. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    I just woke mine from sleep while plugged into a second display and it got stuck on the blue screen of resolution switching. I had to hard boot it to wake it up.
     
  10. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #10
    Same problem. At times.

    Please report it to Apple.

    You can call or use the feedback form.....or both.
     
  11. dsciel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    #11
    +1 for this issue and will submit a feedback form because its annoying
     

Share This Page