Mc pro as windows only machine (sorry for making u spit your coffee out)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by steveOooo, Nov 18, 2011.

  1. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    If OSX becomes 'iPad on steroids' (well 'when') could I run just windows on a 2010 mac pro? Is it even possible? S u turn on, and it loads jus like a windows machine? No apple logo on start up / cog wheel

    Also, if just running windows, could I use any graphics or am I stuck with apple compatible models?

    I'd be running adobe master collection cs 5 etc...
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Just use BootCamp and set your startup disk to your Win partition. Although the iPad on steroids thing isn't happening when you think about it. That's all just Lion surface stuff, it can all be changed to how you like it.
     
  3. connor.e macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Why would you fork out 4000$ + for a Mac Pro, when you're going to install only w****** on it? It's a needless expense when you can surely build your own w****** desktop.

    Yikes. :apple:
     
  4. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #4
    I'm assuming he means he has one already, and is wondering if it can be used exclusively for Windows.
     
  5. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Yes, not now in the future - (im using 10.6)
    may just need windows running adobe stuff
     
  6. G-Force macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #6
    To be honest, if you just ignore Launchpad OS X 10.7 is pretty much the same as 10.6.

    I don't use a Magic Mouse, so I don't even have to deal with the gestures. Feels a lot like using 10.6.
     
  7. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    No it is not.
     
  8. G-Force macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
  9. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
    Yes you can run Windows and any graphics card. However, worrying about going to Windows now, for the reason you stated, is quite a bit premature.

    iOS is not replacing OS X. Secondly, even if it did, it's waaaay off. Thirdly, you could continue to use OS X and just not upgrade.
     
  10. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #10
    I just upgraded to Lion and after moving Launchpad (the one aspect of Lion I do not care for) off the Dock and tweaking some interface settings (notably the iOS-style scrolling), it behaves practically the same way Snow Leopard did. And I'm really digging the Lion version of Safari. And to me, the integration in Mission Control is a lot more intuitive than using Expose and Spaces separately. It took me a few months to cave in, but I actually like Lion a lot.

    To call Lion iOS on a desktop is a bit far fetched. The only valid reason I'd see for someone NOT wanting it is if they still needed to run PowerPC applications. Obviously, that no longer applies to me.
     
  11. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #11
    The increased heat. 10ºC hotter than 10.6 on my Macbook Pro. Rewrote non standard SMB stack. Superfluous graphic animations that actually distract you from doing what you wanted like moving files with the stupid pause it does. I could go on.
     
  12. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #12
    I have Windows 7 running on its own, non-Bootcamp 2TB hard drive in my 2010 Mac Pro. With the Bootcamp Windows drivers installed it works great. If my Lion hard drive is pulled out a bit or removed Windows 7 starts an runs as it would in any Windows 7 box. The MP makes a great Windows machine.
     
  13. Tutor, Nov 18, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2011

    Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #13
    To me, Lion is worse than 10.6.7, even if I ignore Launchpad. System feels slower and isn't as stable. Even, IOS upgrades are becoming buggy, necessitating more releases to cure them. I bet that when Steve was alive and feeling good, that he (or his most reliable proxy) would bless the latest and greatest Mac OS (or iOS for that matter) before we saw it in golden disk form to ensure that it passed muster. Sadly, it appears that no one is blessing the OS releases like in years past. This might be a product of laziness engendered by the digital sales model. Like another forum poster says, these problems appear to lay at the feet of the iOS focused crowd there, who are beginning to even fumble the iOS upgrades/updates. Moreover, forcing the Mac desktops to run iOSist apps will eventually be Apple's undoing in the desktop market. Continuing to foist those type of apps on desktop users will send us away crying and asking why could Apple not have foreseen the consequences of regressing away from open inter-app communication. Running Windows on your Mac Pro may become a necessity sooner than you imagine. By the way, I finished my coffee before logging on and, even if I had not done so, you'd never find me spitting my coffee when someone asks a legitimate question.
     
  14. G-Force macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #14
    Not saying it is your imagination because I do believe some people are having serious issues with Lion, but on my Mac Pro 10.7 is not one bit slower than 10.6. ;)

    I did have some issues with Wifi on my previous iMac, but the Mac Pro is doing fine. What I don't like is that some windows won't stay on their place after a restart but other than that, it's not all that bad for me I guess.
     
  15. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    I gave it a week

    Adobe master collection cs5 / fcs3 worked fine,

    QuickTime pro doesn't work
    Mpegstreamclip crashes
    A few other minor apps crash on open
    Blue iPhone auto correct spell checker (can this be turned off?)
    Library hidden(I created a alias - wtf?)
    Drag / drop files a bit weird

    Generally feels a bit ropey, so went back to 10.6.8 from connecting my Mbp (though it still says 'my name's MacBook pro' on my mac pro
     
  16. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #16
    You can unhide the library with a terminal command if you Google it.
     
  17. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #17
    Versions, Mission Control, Internet Connection takes a while to re-establish a connection after waking from sleep, randomly doesn't want to go to sleep, assigning apps to a desktop breaks randomly placing apps on different desktops than I set them to...

    It's a rock solid system, just loads of annoying ****** features like versions ruin it.

    If I could turn off Versions, have spaces back and turn of resume completely (I've locked the saved state folder to stop them doing anything) then it would be awesome.

    Unfortunately Lion is very much in the step of consumerisation.

    And before you say 'go back to SL' the TM and Mail folders and config are upgraded and NOT REVERSIBLE. So I'm stuck now...
     
  18. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #18
    I take it you didn't have enough capacity/drives to have a separate backup location when switching (allow you to keep SL + data stored away on disks/partitions that Lion never saw/had access to). :confused:
     
  19. ancelrick macrumors member

    ancelrick

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    #19
    you are so right , i often find myself just staring off into space for like 5 minutes every time i try to move a file. really annoying.
     

Share This Page