MDD lockup and other issues.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by spf2, Apr 9, 2015.

  1. spf2, Apr 9, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2015

    spf2 macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
    #1
    I have an MDD 1.0 DP that is experiencing lockups among other things. Here are some of the issues.

    1. Anything connected to the ATA-33 bus is not detected. This includes Superdrive and hard drives. I can connect the Superdrive to the ATA-66 and it works fine. Tried different cables and such. The ATA-33 Bus does not even show up in System profiler.

    2. The system locks up a different times within OS9 and OSX. Sometimes on boot up . Sometimes after using it for a while.

    3. Attached is crash on screen. Other times it gets the dreaded put button to restart your mac screen.

    Things that I have tried.

    1. Reset nvram, reset pmu, zapped pram. removed battery.
    2. Swapped memory with working MDD 1.25 DP.
    3. Currently just using a 512 Memory stick.
    4. No add on cards
    5. Used mutiple hard drives even swapped with working MDD 1.25 system
    6. Can't run AHT since can't boot from Superdrive.
    7. Removed heatsink and reapplied thermal compound.


    Anyone have a clue what could be the issue? I am guessing it is the logic board.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    What GPU is in it? I have an MDD like that but it was a bad logic board. Intell may be able to give a more descriptive diagnosis.
     
  3. spf2 thread starter macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Sounds like a hardware issue. What PCI cards do you have installed other than the Rage?

    Based on the top line of your KP (System Failure…cpu=1…invalid pmap) here is what I found (this person explained this fairly well I think in response to someone else's KP):

    Also, the Mac holds time and date correct? Just confirming.
     
  5. spf2 thread starter macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
    #5
    It holds time. I just removed the battery so it was reset. There are no other PCI cards in the machine.
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    Then given your prior issues with the ATA bus I would say your logicboard is probably starting to fail. Usually, if there is an issue with a video card, it just fails and you get no video display. I've never heard of a video card failing slowly although I suppose it could happen.
     
  7. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #7
    My logicboard had this same issue, but with me it was the ATA100 bus experiences the same thing you had. You need a new logic board.
     
  8. spf2 thread starter macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
    #8
    Well i got a hold of a firewire DVD player. I held option and the DVD shows up with Apple Hardware Test CD. The problem I have is when I select it then hit the arrow pointing right. Nothing happens, it just goes back to the menu with the OSX , OS9 , and the DVD with AHT screen.
     
  9. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #9
    I think something like that happens if you try booting incompatible media. Perhaps the AHT CD is not compatible with your machine?
     
  10. spf2, Apr 9, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2015

    spf2 thread starter macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
    #10
  11. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #11

Share This Page