Mdworker process 100% Deleting it with Terminal

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by SD-B, Mar 21, 2014.

  1. SD-B macrumors 6502

    SD-B

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #1
    Since getting 10.92 I have started to notice in my processes a process, "mdworker" which is continuously using 99.9% processing power

    Upon doing a search, I understand its happening since Maverick and one needs to apparently follow the instructions on the page I have listed below, in Terminal.
    https://discussions.apple.com/message/23832053#23832053

    What I want to know is exactly how I type this......where I see "sudo launchctl unload -w" I see spaces between the words........am I supposed to leave those spaces when I type this in or not?

    As siily a question as this might seem, I just want to be doubly careful and make sure when I do type it in, I do it correctly.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    You would include the spaces just like it is shown. Just copy and paste from here directly into Terminal to avoid any typos.

    To disable:

    Code:
    sudo launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.metadata.mds.plist
    To enable:

    Code:
    sudo launchctl load -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.metadata.mds.plist
    Sometime this happens because Spotlight is hung up on a particular file or folder it is trying to index. Open Console app from /Applications/Utilities and look for any mdworker errors shown and see if that points to a file or folder problem area.
     
  3. SD-B thread starter macrumors 6502

    SD-B

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #3
    I did look through for some time but was unable to find anything for it but I have since disabled it, pasting it in as you typed

    Thank you, for the first time in days its not doing that
     
  4. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #4
    It relates to spotlight as you have seen. You can disable access specifically to system level files while retaining others. This is accomplished through system preferences using the privacy option. Having a lot of newly installed or updated files prompts spotlight to update. You experience this as a result.
     
  5. Rich Smith, Jan 27, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2017

    Rich Smith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    #5
    Are you using Dropbox? If you go into your System Preferences/Spotlight - "private" option and "+" select/add Dropbox (it's set up as a mountable device), it will probably solve your problem. You can probably leave Spotlight running, and disable the directories you don't need. The Dropbox "mdworker" will not be included in your processes, eliminating the drilling down via the internet to the crap on your remote drive. That is a quick and dirty if indeed the stuff on D'box does not require searchability.
     
  6. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark

Share This Page