me.com can you use nameservers?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by robocop2000, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. robocop2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Another world
    #1
    One of the most annoying things for me with dotmac was the fact that you can't use nameservers to direct your domain towards your .mac account (I use a .jp address and this is my only option)

    Anyone know if you will be able to use nameserves on mobileme?
     
  2. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #2
    Mobile Me isn't a professional web hosting service, so this functionality will be highly unlikely. If you need this sort of thing, the best thing to do would be to buy some proper web hosting instead.
     
  3. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Apple haven't commented on this, so we don't know for sure - however, it seems highly unlikely to me.

    Apple seem to be aiming this service at the typical low-end user - a simple way for the non-technical Mac user to get a site on the web. I very much doubt that they'll complicate things by adding this sort of option - useful though it might be.

    Personally, although I have a .Mac account, I wouldn't consider using it for web hosting - it has just too many limitations. I get my money's worth from .Mac in other ways, and rely on a regular hosting company to handle my web sites/domain names and related email accounts.
     
  4. consumedsoul macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #4
    Doubtful...

    Doubtful, but I was thinking of this work-around (which would save me a TON of $ instead of using my Exchange service for about 4 of us in our company right now):

    - Configure a POP account for my work email w/ the @ghkim.com domain, then enable the @me.com account for each mailbox to download the respective POP emails (anyone use this w/ .Mac right now w/ good results?).

    - Configure my mail client (e.g. Mail or Entourage) to be able to log into my POP account so that I can 'send as' my POP address (of course this might be annoying if every email I send I have to modify the 'send from/as' for each email. :(

    This work-around of course means that I wouldn't be able to send as @ghkim.com via iPhone or the .Me webmail, etc. and I'd always need a mail client to send work emails.

     
  5. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    i would use it if i could use my own domain name for the email part of it (the webpage part i'm not so bothered about).

    unfortunately you can't use your own domain name with the email, so it becomes useless for me. however it they did, i would jump at it.
     
  6. vandozza macrumors 6502a

    vandozza

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    I also have a business domain that I would love to get pushed to an iPhone. It would be wonderful if this could be achieved through mobile me (as I'm already a .mac subscriber for personal mail.)

    However I don't see this happening :(
     
  7. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #7
    Much easier to just use Gmail, I just set it up (you use Google Apps, the free version works great). You can still access that in Mail and on the iPhone/iPod touch, but it's free. For the record, I do have .Mac, but I didn't pay for it myself. Not sure I could bring myself to pay the $99 a year, but I do enjoy having it.

    jW
     
  8. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #8
    I just read this on the mobile me site:

     
  9. bstpierre macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #9
    I agree with the domain hosting. I would love to host my domain name on me.com so I can get my email pushed. Right now I have my domain host forwarding my mail to my gmail account (I like this better than having gmail download from my host using POP because it happens sooner, ie less lag time). I am using the imap feature too so all mailboxes are the same.

    I could forward to the me.com account but I also like the "never delete another email" philosophy of gmail. Of course that is only 6GB of space they are giving me at this time, less than the 20 GB from me.com but more than the 5 GB for an individual in the family plan.

    My plan is to get the new iPhone which is suppose to come with a free trial of me.com. I'll have to see how that works.

    It is nice that they are supporting the webpage domain although I wonder how that would screw up the other aspects of my domain.
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Yes, you can have your own domain hosted on me.com. I have mine there. Now I just need to find the time to finish building my site!
     
  11. vandozza macrumors 6502a

    vandozza

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
  12. robocop2000 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Another world
    #12
    Correct me if I'm wrong but I guess you are using domain forwarding not actual hosting using nameservers. My question was if they will offer hosting via nameservers.
     
  13. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #13
    The .Mac Personal Domain do use the nameservers, it just doesn't use MX records to forward mail from that domain.

    jW
     
  14. vandozza macrumors 6502a

    vandozza

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    sorry to hijack your thread! :eek:
     
  15. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #15
    It seems highly unlikely to me that they will remove this feature. They are just moving mac.com domains to me.com. No reason for them to remove personal domain hosting as part of the package.
     
  16. TimTheEnchanter macrumors 6502a

    TimTheEnchanter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
  17. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #17
    I don't have my domain set up to forward. I registered a cname, according to the instructions on .mac:

    To set up .Mac to use a personal domain name:

    * If you haven't already registered a domain name, visit an accredited domain name registrar on the Internet and register the personal domain name you want to use. For information about registering a domain name, search the Internet for "domain name registrars."

    * If you're not already logged in to .Mac, go to www.mac.com, and log in.

    * Click Account in the left column on the .Mac homepage, and confirm your login.

    * On the Account Settings page, click the Personal Domain button, and then follow the instructions that appear.

    * When asked to enter your domain name, be sure to type the entire domain name (including the extension, such as .com, .net) that you've registered.

    * When you see a screen confirming that .Mac is configured to host your domain, go to your domain name registrar's web hosting area, and point your domain (by adding or changing a "cname record") to "web.mac.com."

    * For instructions on changing the cname register, contact your domain name registrar.
     
  18. robocop2000 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Another world
    #18
    Unfortunately my registrar dosent provide cname (www.jp-domains.com) hence the need for nameservers, I'm beginning to give up hope now :(
     
  19. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #19
    I promise this isn't a commercial announcement, but if you want the capability, you might consider switching to GoDaddy.com. Very simple! (Great commercials, too! :D )
     
  20. robocop2000 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Another world
    #20
    I didn't realise GoDaddy did .jp domains, I will look at transferring my registrar, cheers!
     
  21. lindahl22 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #21
    I just did this. You can either pay millions to your domain provider, godaddy or 1and1, ect

    OR

    go to http://www.google.com/a/ and use Google Apps, and unlimited amounts of email aliases, but only 100 different users for free, but one user can have me@mydomain.com and info@mydomain.com, and like unlimited others, it is SWEET!!

    and all for free!!!
     
  22. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #22
    I wanted to add a .me TLD to MobileMe and it told me it didn't work; I emailed their support and they said they forwarded my request to a MobileMe engineer who will add the .me TLD to the list of approved TLDs and so my domain should work.

    I guess if you want to use your .jp, you should email MobileMe support and ask them to forward the request to a specialist; then the specialist will foward it to an engineer. Hopefully they will resolve this for me, but of course I guess restoring service to everyone is priority.
     
  23. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #23

Share This Page