ME865 or ME864 (13" MacBook Pro purchase questions )

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Cyraxtc, Dec 2, 2015.

1. Cyraxtc macrumors newbie

Hello folks, I am an amateur

I am going to buy a macbook this week. Now I am considering between:
    ME865: i5 2.4/8GB Ram/256GB SSD
    ME864: i5 2.4/4GB Ram/128GB SSD

I am studying marketing major so my needs are office (writing report, sheet and presentation, I do many presentations per week), PS (just make pictures for presentation), running IBM SPSS, web, and basic entertainment (music, movies,...). I don't play games. Btw, I must install Windows for my Mac is a must because my exam client software can only run in Windows. My all data in current latop is about 7GB (most of them are documents). I use google photo and flickr for my photos.

I intend to use this macbook for 2-3 years and my money is just enough for ME864. But I can manage for ME865 although it's gonna be tough, I will struggling for ME865.

My question is 4GB and 128GB SSD would be enough for my demands. Should I try for ME865 because of "future proof" or buy an MBA would be worth for me? xD. Please don't recommend a windows machine.

Thank you! (My apology if my English is not good enough)

2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

Well if you need a windows partition and the apps you mentioned then clearly 128GB is not going to be enough and if you run windows as a VM then 4GB of RAM isn't enough.

3. Erdbeertorte macrumors demi-goddess

Erdbeertorte

Just for more answers and less questions:

ME864+865 = 13-inch MacBook Pro (Retina) Late 2013 - slowest CPU option (i5-4258U)

;)

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I updated the title, because I had no idea what the ME864 was and what it related too. Thanks for the clarification.