measuring in Acrobat

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by zoran, Mar 20, 2015.

  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Is it possible to measure graphic elements in Acrobat (either reader or pro)? Like take a ruler and measure lengths!
     
  2. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #2
    Acrobat Pro: once document is open, CMD+R will bring up rulers both vertical & horizontal. If you want to change the rule of measurement, just right-click on the ruler and your options will appear.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #3
    Thanx but thats not exactly what i wanted to know. I want to know if its possible to measure say objects or other graphic elements. If there was a tool for measuring it would be great.
    Both referring to pro and reader!
     
  4. LunaC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #4
  5. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #5
    You can also use the Measuring Tool in Acrobat Pro, which I forgot about. Go to View>Tools>Analyze. This will open the Analyze Menu, there you will find the Measuring Tool. You will see I have it in use on the screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #6
    Firedept and LunaC are the solutions you posted available in Reader too?
     
  7. firedept, Mar 20, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2015

    firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #7
    Sure will. Only difference is where to find the Measuring Tool. It is located at Edit>Analysis>Measuring Tool. Which will work on all PDF's. You will not have Rulers or Guides to use though on older PDF's. They will only work on newer ones.
     
  8. zoran, Mar 23, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2015

    zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #8
    What happens if this option is grayed? Cause thats what happens in my version of reader (10.1.1)
     
  9. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #9
    If it is grayed out, then you will not have the option available. I am on Version 11.0.10. I have tested it on several new and old PDF's and have no problem opening the Measuring Tool. Do you have it enabled in Preferences? See below how I have mine set. Since I am on a newer version, I can not tell you about the version you are running as I would only be guessing.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #10
    Yes, hmm i think it was a matter of version, i downloaded ver11 and all works fine, only thing is how do i convert the metrics. I want to see mm instead of inches!
     
  11. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #11
    Under Preferences>Units change to Millimeters. Then your Measuring Tool will read in mm. In Acrobat Pro it will be under Units & Guides.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #12
    Hah i did that before you posted but it didn't work! I realised that it works after i restarted the application... you see i was on Windows! :mad:
    I dont think that would be needed (restart) on a mac, would it?
     
  13. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #13
    Nope. You change it and close Preferences and you are all set to go.
     

Share This Page