med student - should I wait or buy now?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by aldrae6, Aug 1, 2012.

1. aldrae6 macrumors newbie

Hey all, new member and first forum post anywhere, so I apologize if I mess something up. I have been watching this forum for awhile waiting to purchase my first mac since March and now I am getting inpatient. I am a medical student and looking to buy the iMac to study at home with as well as play games such as league of legends (through bootcamp), diablo 3 and starcraft 2. Classes will be starting in 3 weeks and I cant decide if I want to wait for the possibility of a new model coming out in a few months or buying a refurbished 2011 model now. My big questions are:
    1. What is the likelihood of a major overhaul? The current specs of the 2011 model would do everything I need, I am basically waiting so that my money goes furthest and my machine is as 'future-proof' as possible.
    2. What are the chances of apple including an option other than thunderbolt which would allow you to use the imac as a display for a game console?

Thanks for your responses.

2. forty2j macrumors 68030

forty2j

For the particular tasks you list, the 2011 27" iMac with the BTO 2GB 6970m will serve just fine. The risk is that next model will have a GPU that's 2x as powerful, so around 2014 or so equivalent tasks will still fly on the 2012 but degrade in the 2011. The expected heavy lifting lifespan for the 2011's is shrinking.

Other expected 2012 improvements include a low-glare screen, USB 3 (if you hold lots of media in externals this is helpful), and lower cost (and perhaps standard) SSDs. The CPU upgrade is hardly worth mentioning.

I'll put it this way: there's a higher chance that Microsoft/Sony include Thunderbolt ports on their new consoles that should come out next year.

3. french.lamp macrumors newbie