Media Center on Fusion or Parallels

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by rodman109110, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. rodman109110 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #1
    Has anyone been able to get media center to work via fusion or parallels? I would like to be able to watch/record tv shows without having to use bootcamp. I am aware of eyetv but i already own a tuner for windows and i don't want to spend another $100+ on a mac compatible tuner/tv program.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    There's a chance that Elgato might support that tuner. I take it that it's USB?

    It'll pass through just fine to the VM but encoding might be a problem.
     
  3. rodman109110 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #3
    the tuner works fine. i think its a graphics problem. fusion caps the vram at 128 and i think the minimum the media center requires is 256. is there a way to increase the vram?
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Ah yes the video requirements for running Media Center are rather high. You're lucky to get 128 MB in the virtual machine.

    Looks like Boot Camp unless you can figure out if Elgato supports your device.
     
  5. husky99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #5
    Has anyone been able to get WMC Live TV to work in either Parallels or Fusion latest releases?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page