Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Banjara

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 13, 2009
Hi All.

First of all, thanks to all you putting up lots of really good advice, and showing the rest of us how to do various things.

I have read some of the stickies, and some other posts, and am getting quite overwhelmed with information, and am not sure which way to go. I am also an Apple newbie, so am not familiar with lots of terminology, so could I be a pain, and ask for for help and direction. I understand that most of what I want to achieve is probably covered elsewhere, so I don't mind if people just send me some links which address what I want to achieve.

Here goes. What I want to do is setup a Media server, with NAS, and to stream my content to Apple TV (Which I will buy soon), and play my music through Airport Express (which I have recently brought). We have a couple of iPhones, and I have a iTunes library on my laptop (Dell) and my wife has her library on her MacBook (Lovely..I am a convert). What I want to be able to do is move all of the iTunes content to a Media Server, and from our respective laptops, load the iTunes library from the network (which I understand how to do). I also want to be able to build up my media library of all my DVD's so that I can stream them across to Apple TV over the network. I have the whole house CAT5e cabled, so have plenty of ethernet points to plug various pieces of equipment into.
The Media server I am assuming I will be able to access remotely too (acting as a NAS).

I have looked at Handbrake, and it looks pretty good, but a little overwhelming to layperson.

Would really appreciate all the help and advice.

Chipskip

macrumors member
Jan 27, 2009
AZ
OK, if I am understanding you right you you want a full media server, not just an outlet for playing your iTunes content?