Media on external HD/wireless

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Matt-Man-Plus, Mar 9, 2009.

  1. Matt-Man-Plus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #1
    Anyone here keep their media on an external HD and access it wirelessly? I'm interested in trying this and would like to know if it would be plausible.

    What's your setup?
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    You can, but streaming videos like that may not be best - it will depend on your network.
     
  3. Matt-Man-Plus thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #3
    Well I was thinking of streaming the music wireless. I was going to use ATV for the video, hardwired.
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  5. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #5
    my entire iTunes Music and Movie library reside on a 1.5TB harddrive on my AirPort Extreme, streams to two separate computers and to an AppleTV never had any issues or lagging with them.

    just point your library to the AirPort Disk and you should be set.

    you might benefit from having the ATV hardwired for higher quality/larger video files without hving the ATV buffer it too excessively.


    goodluck, hope it turns out great.
     
  6. Matt-Man-Plus thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #6

    So you have a 1.5 TB HD connected to the Airport extreme? Holy crap that's alot of media!! Has anyone ever tried doing the same thing with a 1TB time capsule, by itself? This is what I wanted to try doing actually.
     
  7. ThirteenXIII macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #7
    It can be done the same way as using an external disk to an AirPort Extreme.

    My set has my TimeCapsule backing up 2 macbook pros and also streams my music to each of them.

    all you do is just drag and drop your media content you want on there point your libraries to those and i think you should be set, as thats all I did.

    Since the time machine backs up to its own folder per system and inside there contains all the backed up files.
    so you shouldnt have any issues just placing your media on there at all.
     

Share This Page