Media Question for Encoding and Ripping?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Wicked1, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. Wicked1, Jul 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011

    Wicked1 macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    Ok I am finally starting to organize myself with all my media and ATV1 and AT2 as well as using my Mini as a Media Player.

    I have several questions as I would prefer to import all my DVD's into a Digital version however it is filling up my external 2tb drive.

    I use Mac the Ripper to RIP them from DVD to my Mini and external HDD, then I use Handbrake to Encode them to watch. Here is the issue when I had the Mini and only ATV1 is was easy to Encode but now I have ATV2 and they are not the same formats so movies that were Encoding for ATV2 do not work on ATV1.

    What is the best way to RIP a DVD, then Encode it, most DVD's are Ripping using 8GB of Drive space and the problem with this is I am using a lot of HDD space.

    I also bought some movies off iTunes and I am wondering how Apple gets them so perfect, I mean the ones I encode with Handbrake are clean, but not the same quality as Apple uses, does anyone know if there are two better programs out there, I do not care if I even have to buy them.

    I am also open to any suggestions if there is a better way of doing this all, because I am trying to get rid of my DVD's and CD's they take up too much space, also looking for another Storage Device, thought of a Drobo but I would rather buy 2-3 External Seagate 3TB external HDD's as they are only $139.00.
     
  2. Bill.the.Cat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #2
    It sounds like you may have some problems with your Handbrake settings, both in terms of file size and quality. I get an average DVD size of maybe 2GB with the quality slider at 18, encoding using the ATV2 preset. In terms of quality I have only seen a few SD titles from iTunes but they looked about the same as my own Handbrake DVD rips. It may be that some newer iTunes SD content was encoded from much higher-quality masters and/or with better algorithms; if so, the only way to match the quality is to start with a blu-ray source and encode it down to "SD."

    Regardless, you are always going to be somewhat hamstrung on quality as long as you have to encode for the ATV1. Given that brand new ATV2s can be had for $80, you might consider turning your ATV1 into a Leopard iTunes server and picking up an ATV2 as a replacement. If you install Leopard on your ATV1 then you can attach one of those external storage drives via USB and let it store and serve your entire iTunes library.

    If you could give some details on your Handbrake settings you can probably get better and more specific advice on your encoding issues.
     
  3. Wicked1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    How do you do that with ATV1 and Snow Leopard? Sounds interesting?
     
  4. Bill.the.Cat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #4
    Start here: http://www.hackint0sh.org/f291/219562.htm

    The ATV1 actually has an Intel processor that can run either Tiger (on which the ATV1 operating system is based) or Leopard. Snow Leopard won't run properly. The process may seem involved at first but really isn't too bad if you use one of the pre-built images. These make great little $50 computers, just plug in a DVI/HDMI monitor, USB hub/keyboard/mouse. Or set it up once and just VNC into it when you need to manage things.
     
  5. djdirect macrumors newbie

    djdirect

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #5
    I used to use Mac The Ripper all the time. Now it just seems like a waste of time if your converting your DVD's into the .m4v format to watch on your ATV's. Just go straight to Handbrake. And your problem with ripping for your ATV2 and not being able to play on your ATV1, I had the same issue. I just use XBMC on the ATV1 to watch them.
     
  6. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #6
    The key reason to rip first ( i now use RipIt) and then encode is so you can let them encode over night. Back when i was still working through my collection i would rip 10 DVD's (then using MTR), load all into HB and let it chew threw them over night.
     

Share This Page