Medialink - not working

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Freis968, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. Freis968 macrumors 6502a

    Freis968

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    Winter Park, Florida
    #1
    Medialink was working beautifully under Leopard. Upgrade to SL and now it does not work. I went to the Medialink website and there was nothing on there about an update.

    For those of you who have the program working, did you do anything to get it to work, or did it just work like it was supposed to?
     
  2. tibi08 macrumors 6502a

    tibi08

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #2
    Mine just worked both before and after. Version 1.5 though, I haven't upraded yet.
     
  3. 340driver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    Am the same, have the latest medialink v1.72 and the preference pane seems to work fine after system pref starts up in 32bit mode, but it doesn't share anything.

    the nullriver.com website is of no help so far! :(
     
  4. mofle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #4
    Medialink + Snow Leopard = FAIL

    Mine stopped working too (1.72).

    It seems more people are having this issue:
    http://search.twitter.com/search?q=medialink

    I got this email 13 days ago, after i sent some feedback.

    Really hope a new version with Snow Leopard support will come VERY soon.
    I use MediaLink every day, and it disappointing that there is no news on the site from the developer and no new version yet...

    BTW, the newest version of Rivet already works on Snow Leopard, but I'm not about to shell out for another DLNA software. At least yet...
     
  5. mofle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #5
  6. Tuta macrumors member

    Tuta

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #6
    Missing my Medialink...

    contemplating rolling back to the 1.5 -- does anyone remember what was added from 1.5 to 1.72? Curious as to what I would lose.
     
  7. Ackster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #7
    I've found that if I stop and restart file sharing, my PS3 is able to see medialink just fine. I think I will end up d/l the older version though since stopping and restarting file sharing gets old.
     
  8. sva macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, near England.
    #8
    Mine isn't working either.

    3.0 Firmware for PS3 was just released so I assume they were waiting for that before releasing/working on an update.
     
  9. zen macrumors 68000

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #9
    Working fine here in Snow Leopard. I assume you guys have tried reinstalling it?
     
  10. serverleader macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #10
    thanks man that worked.... (v1.59)

    1.72 did stoped working when I installed Snow Leopard :(
     
  11. zen macrumors 68000

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
  12. Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #12
    Running 1.59 on 10.6 here as well as 1.72 craps out with a DLNA protocol errror #2006. Music and Pictures work fine on 1.59 but I still can't use video as the PS3 craps out with a 800288D8 error anywhere from 10-30 seconds into a video stream (encoded using PS3 preset on Handbrake 0.93 from DVD).
     
  13. brijazz macrumors 6502

    brijazz

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #13
    1.59 here too...

    I also rolled back to 1.59 after 1.72 wouldn't work under Snow Leopard. It's working well enough; I get lots of error messages that pop up during video playback (PS3 is wired to my router), but nothing that actually stops the video from playing as it should. Looking forward to the new version of MediaLink; I'll second the idea that Nullriver is just waiting to test it against the newly-released PS3 firmware 3.0.
     
  14. Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #14
    Looks like NullRiver has released version 2.0a1 of MediaLink! It is 64-bit native and (so far) works on Snow Leopard.

    MediaLink
     
  15. ethana macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #15
    I'm still getting DLNA protocol errror #2006 even on 2.0a and SL
     
  16. ethana macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #16
    I just rolled back to 1.59 and now videos are streaming quickly but I too am getting the "80710736" error constantly. Grr...
     
  17. Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #17
    I'm having the same exact problems streaming video on both versions. The PS3 even chokes halfway though 24MB podcast (right after completely saturating my 100Mb LAN connection somehow).
     
  18. archi81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #18
    Different error code

    I just installed the full version of medialink 2 days ago. I have snow leopard as well. I get the error code 2101. I have no idea how to make it work. At first look, it seems my videos will play, then the error comes and then it says corrupt file.
     
  19. SicMX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #19
    Has anyone managed to get Medialink working under Snow Leopard yet?
     
  20. guywoodman7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #20
    I'm using Medialink v2.0a1 under Snow Leopard 10.6.1, and PS3 Firmware 3.0 and everything is working for the most part. However, I've had plenty of issues in the past with streaming and have gotten into the habit of copying over the video I plan on watching as opposed to streaming it. I haven't had any issues with this method, it's just not as instantaneous. It sure beats the movie losing connection mid way through watching.
     
  21. friendga macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    #21
    media link

    also having trouble with media link. I am running this from a imac to a samsung tv with a ethernet cable.the tv recognizes media link but does not load any of my photos from iphoto and the same with music from itunes. it does show the folders but no content.also can you transmit bbc radio from imac to tv via ethernet cable? by any dlna software?
     
  22. SecrtAgnt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    #22
    Can someone re-submit this - it's beyond the maximum downloads.
     

Share This Page