Meetings

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by glocke12, Mar 14, 2011.

?

I think meetings are:

1. Are essential for communicating.

4 vote(s)
    26.7%
  2. For the most part are unproductive and a distraction.

8 vote(s)
    53.3%
  3. Are a good way of increasing my visibility among my peers and supervisor

1 vote(s)
    6.7%
  4. A good way of making me feel important.

2 vote(s)
    13.3%
  1. glocke12 macrumors 6502a

glocke12

A little bit of a vent here, but I am also curious because I am sure there are people here who are the opposite of me, that enjoy meetings.

In the past 2-3 years I have seen the amount of time I spend at meetings on a weekly basis increase many fold.

2-3 years ago I probably had 1 or 2 meetings a month, each last two hours.

So far this year I am now spending on average 6-8 hours a WEEK in meetings.
    I work in a lab, as a bench scientist. I am not a manager, have no direct reports, my job is to produce results.

Many of these are two hour "formal" meetings. By formal I mean there are powerpoint slides, minutes that are taken, etc...

Most of what is discussed at these meetings are items that can be taken care of with either a short phone call, or better yet emails.

Im curious to hear from other people on either side, those that enjoy meetings and those like me, who think most of them are a complete waste of time.

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

I hate them and they're a waste of time 99% of the time. I don't need to discuss that ****ing e-mail you sent out last week. I have no feelings and I'm going to do whatever I'm told and I would expect as the **** rolls down hill that others follow my lead.

In the end, happy to have a job and I'm not going to **** on anyone's toes just because I'm cranky about meetings.

3. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

iJohnHenry

Save yourself some grief.

One rule, no agenda, no attendance.

If the ego calling the meeting cannot create an agenda, that tells me all I need to know.