Mega weird: Apps running at 1/4 the screen size!!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by theNEOone, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. theNEOone, Nov 9, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2010

    theNEOone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    4.1 jailbroken

    Images are attached -- this is incredibly strange, but my "apps" are all running at 1/4 the screen size, even though my home screen and lock screen look normal. I've put "apps" in quotations, because even stock apps run at 1/4 screen size including the Mail App, iPod, Phone App, even Settings!

    Even more strange is the behavior of the OS to touch input. If I start finger scrolling in the "black space" (i.e. the portion of the screen where the app is not occupying), the OS doesn't respond. However, if I start the scroll in the used space then continue sliding into the "black space" I can scroll just fine.

    Also, the calibration of my touches aren't aligned with what's onscreen (post-miniaturization). For example, since the app is now running at 1/4 the screen size, everything occupies a different space than it normally does, i.e. it's "squeezed" to the top left section of the screen. If I touch the app on the new position where an icon or menu item appears, the OS interprets that touch as if the app were running full screen, so instead of pressing what I intended, I instead activate what would have been occupying the space where my finger touched if the app were running at normal size. You may argue that this behavior is just a byproduct of everything being smaller and my touches being less precise, but trust me, this is not the case. My touches are clearly registering as if the app were running full screen.

    More weirdness: some elements aren't miniaturized. Although most things are scaled down, the carrier signal is not, nor is the "bulb" on the ringer volume slider in Settings/Sounds or on the Brightness slider.

    I've powered on/off, I've also rebooted via Home+Sleep. I always return to the same behavior.

    This just started happening randomly an hour ago. I jailbroke this weekend and had only a few hiccups which I corrected. I had several days of glitch-free operation. The only thing that I think happened within the last hour was that I updated a few apps, but these were all apps from the official App store and were relatively harmless. I don't remember which ones updated, but there were 6 in total. I can't imagine that this would be the problem though....

    What's going on!??!?!

    Edit: Safe Mode allows me to run full screen. Looks like I'll be in this mode until I get home.

    Edit 2: Apparently the culprit was SimpleBackground. Uninstalling fixed the issue. Thank you to thespazz for the solution.


    =|
     

    Attached Files:

  2. LoLife macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Location:
    Reno, NV
  3. h1r0ll3r macrumors 68040

    h1r0ll3r

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    Maryland
    #3
    That IS freakin' weird. Something got FUBAR'd big time. I doubt updating the App Store apps could've done something like this but, if you can't figure out a solution quick, you might have to restore/JB again.
     
  4. RRmalvado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #4
    No kidding... there's too many issues here to tackle. I would restore as a new phone, jailbreak and then get my apps/music back onto my phone.
     
  5. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    Best advice you will ever get!! :D
     
  6. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #6
    Looks like they're running at 'native' iPhone 3GS resolution rather than resampling for the iP4's screen. Freaky.
     
  7. theNEOone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Arrrghhhhhhh. I can't tell you how aggravating this is. I want to throw my phone against the wall... dubya tee eff.

    And I won't be able to restore until I get home from work. Fantastic.


    =|
     
  8. h1r0ll3r macrumors 68040

    h1r0ll3r

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    Congrats. You win top honors for "Weirdest JB Bug of the Month/Year".
     
  9. gapperonduty macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #10
    exact same thing happen when i install popup blocker from cydia to use with notified pro (yea, i thought i needed it)

    had to restart in safe mode, or power off/on i think and look for cydia and uninstall the bloody thing then the phone stop acting funny...

    if this applies to you, hope you fix it...
     
  10. thespazz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #11
    Are you using Simple Background? This is the exact problem I had when using that program. Uninstalled and and now I'm fine.

    Look into Panorama. Pay the $2 and have peace of mind.
     
  11. theNEOone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    This worked! Thanks.


    =|
     
  12. animatronio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    #13
    I have the exact same problem. Also have simple backgrounder installed. How did you go about uninstalling it? It's difficult/impossible to click manage when cydia is 1/4 size. Can you manually uninstall via SSH? Thanks for any help!
     
  13. animatronio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    #14
    Nevermind got it.

    1 - open SBS settings hit power button and choose safe mode.
    2 - uninstall simple background with cydia and reboot or respring.

    Thanks for finding what app causes the problem.

    lol just realized in the OP pics you have the same background as me.
     
  14. dccorona macrumors 68020

    dccorona

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #15
    I had the same issue with Simple Background.

    Btw, are you the actual TheSpaz?
     
  15. mishamazor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    #16
    Developer suggestion

    I contacted the developer, he suggests uninstalling LastApp and seeing if it is the culprit in conflict with BrowserChanger.

    Try installing BrowserChanger first, then LastApp.

    Luck,
    Misha
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Or uninstall the last app you installed before this happened:D
     
  17. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #18
    #1 is the correct solution.
    This is not that unusual of a bug.
     
  18. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #19
    Always the best way to go lol. I remembered when this happened to my phone (forget how). I thought it was FUBAR but like others in the thread, some tweaking and I got it fixed.
     

Share This Page