Memory Apps show 256mb ram for my iphone4

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by mgsolidsnak3, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. mgsolidsnak3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I have recently downloaded:
    System Activity monitor
    and
    Scan Lite app

    For those who are not aware, the main purpose of the apps is for displaying memory usage.

    The problem is that both show approximately 250mb ram for my iphone4-16GB,
    (the figure was acquired after adding: free, wired, active and inactive RAM values together.)

    Does anyone else have the same problem?
    Is it an app problem or even worse a fried ram chip ?

    Thanks
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    250mb available ram?
    Thats normal, no your ram is not fried.
     
  3. mgsolidsnak3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    #3
    All the memory figures available added together, so no its not only the free ram
     
  4. RoboCop001 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    But doesn't the iPhone 4 have 512MB of RAM? Wouldn't it have more free RAM?

    Unless you're running a bunch of apps....

    Maybe the apps somehow can't see the 512 when displaying the free amount or something?
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Oh, I see.
    I never used that particular app but Sbsettings indicates 368mb of available ram after a reboot on my i4.
     
  6. mgsolidsnak3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    #6
    So 370mb is it normal after a reboot?

    Does anyone know if (free + wired + active + inactive) = should have been 512mb?
     
  7. tesilential macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    #7
    Chill dude, 350ish is normal after a reboot.


    Use sbsettings for more accuracy. I use system just to see running processes, not to determine your total ram???
     
  8. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    Completely normal.. Not like Apple are just going to remove 256MB RAM from your iPhone ^^
     
  9. mgsolidsnak3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    #9
    I have downloaded them just of curiosity to see how much ram & cpu each app consumes but both apps fail on displaying that, they just display the total used ram & cpu
     
  10. clayts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    #10
    Hi, I had the same issue earlier and thought I had a fried chip as well, but turns out the RAM is there, you just need to kill off all apps that are left in the background (double-tap the home button, hold one of the app icons til it jiggles then tap the badge on the top left corners of the icons), then run Activity Monitor again.. The total memory should add up to 500+ MB. Hope this helps :)
     

Share This Page