Memory [could I upgrade to 8GB later?]

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by dtsteinb, Aug 4, 2014.

1. dtsteinb macrumors newbie

I am new to MAC and I am looking to get my first Apple product. I am looking at the MacBook Air 13 inch. If I were to buy the 4GB model could I upgrade it to 8GB at a later time? I am being told different things and I want to make sure.

2. flowrider macrumors 603

flowrider

There are many threads here that address this issue. Apple also addresses it on their website. And, well I could go on and on. The simple answer is NO! The RAM is soldered on the MB and can't be upgraded.

Lou

3. dtsteinb thread starter macrumors newbie

Memory

Thanks for the link but it really only shows how much memory you need to run applications. I was more interested in if I can upgrade the memory but see you cant. I am a PC guy so I used to being able to open any laptop and upgrade memory at any time.

I did a quick search before posting and didn't see what I was looking for.

Thanks for answering the question. Now I am not sure if I should get.
    For the most part I want to play around and get familiar with Mac's. I just don't want to get the Air and in 6months be sorry it only has 4GB.

4. Meister Suspended

Meister

the link also says that RAM is soldered.

I don't know which apps you will be using, but 4gb is well enough for the most commonly used programs.

5. capathy21 macrumors 65816

capathy21

This....

OSX manages memory much more efficiently than Windows. 4GB on a Macbook running Mavericks is comparable to 6+GB of ram on a Windows machine. What kind of a score did you tally on the ram thread that Meister shared with you?

6. scaredpoet macrumors 604

scaredpoet

I would say that if you ever plan on using VMs (VMware, Virtualbox) or booting into windows, you should probably get 8GB.

If you're not planning on doing this, 4GB should be fine for at least the next few years.

7. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

Newtons Apple