Memory - Crucial, Corsair or Kingston?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by guklein, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. guklein macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #1
    What is a better memory for my iMac? I want to put 4GB (2x2).

    Crucial, Corsair or Kingston?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    Does it even make any difference? Go by the manufacturer specs. All three of those are reputable companies.
     
  3. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #3
    Thats it I would like to know...if it makes any difference and if they are reputable.

    Another suggestion?

    Thank you.
     
  4. Sebby macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    I'd go for Crucial because I like their customer service.
     
  5. steve2112 macrumors 68040

    steve2112

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    East of Lyra, Northwest of Pegasus
    #5
    While I have used all three and never had any problems, I prefer Crucial. Great customer service, and they have a scanner tool on their site that will ensure that you get exactly what you need.
     
  6. mbradyrn macrumors member

    mbradyrn

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    #6
    I don't think it makes much difference if you get the right specs. I have even used the Kingston 'value' ram without problems. I like buying from OWC because it makes it easier returning bad ram if you have to.
     
  7. Bad Paper macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Location:
    graphite clamshell
    #7
    I have always used Kingston, never Crucial or Corsair, so I can't talk about those others. But Kingston has always been good. I buy it from Newegg.
     
  8. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #8
    The iMac 20'' 2.66GHz (before the new one) is DDR2-667Mhz or DDR2-800Mhz?

    A friend told me it is better to put a 667Mhz than a 800Mhz! Why?
     
  9. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #9
    Crucial = Micron which is an OEM supplier to Apple. For years now I've used their generic RAM in my Macs w/ no issues. They also have Mac specific RAM, but it's always a few $ more and it's the same as the generic down to the CAS rating.

    Kingston. They used to be the best back in the 90's. Their specific RAM for Macs is great, but way overpriced. I use to use their ValueRAM but every now and then I'd get bad sticks, or at least sticks that were not up to Apple's standards so I stopped using them.

    Corsair. Never used them. Supposedly they are good, but Crucial works so why take a risk.
     
  10. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #10

    You want to match the RAM speed w/ the bus speed. Using 800Mhz RAM isn't going to be faster in a 667Mhz machine. If you are lucky it will downclock to 667Mhz. At worst your Mac will spit it back at you and you'll have to go through the hassle of getting the right RAM.
     
  11. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
  12. Mj2sL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    #12
    No, it's 800. Just bought exactly that Mac and let them install 4GB of memory. The receipt said 800, the sticker on the iMac box said 800 and in OSX it said 800. So I think your friend might be confused with the older aluminium model, which did use 667mhz RAM.
     
  13. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #13
  14. Jhanson09 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    kansas city, mo
  15. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #15
    Yeah, that's kinda what I was saying. There really isn't any difference - at all. Check your CL ratings and warrantee periods.

    I just (3 hrs ago) bought 8gigs total for $180.

    I bought two of these: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820208422 but in Japan where I live they're about $90 each instead of $175. :) These are MP DIMMs but the same thing (stated above) applies for your iMac too.

    CL on these is programmable 3, 4, or 5. and Transcend offers a lifetime guarantee on those. $22.50 a gig seems nice to me. :)
     
  16. mntpng macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #16
    I guess I'm the only one here that had a run of bad luck with Crucial ram sticks because I had bunch of them go bad on me after few years. So far I've had no problems with Kingston and Mushkin. One more thing. Buying a used ram on eBay is very risky. I learned the hard way that eBay's so called buyer protection is a complete joke. Always buy from reputable vendor like Newegg or OWC.
     
  17. Carrot007 macrumors regular

    Carrot007

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    #17
    Any decent ram will downclock. In my experience it's the ultra cheap and often dodgy ram that misses out all the SPD information and you have to set manually (on a pc obviously you cannot on apple).

    To be honest I avoid it.

    There is some reason to go for higher speed ram though, it often has better latency at th lower speed than the slower ram. Though really this is gonna make no real world difference to anyone.

    I always go with crucial and get speed that is the cheapest, or the higher speed if they are all the same price as often happens.
     

Share This Page