Memory error questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by cardsdoc, Sep 19, 2007.

  1. cardsdoc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Shaker Hts, OH
    #1
    I have a SR MBP (see sig). I recently purchased a 4GB kit of OCZ ram from Newegg. In the few days following installing it, I had a couple kernel panics so I ran memtest. It turned up numerous errors. I reseated twice with no change. The original Apple memory had no errors. I returned the memory and purchased the 4GB kit from OWC which arrived today. It is Techworks branded (although I only ordered their house brand). The first thing I did was run memtest and in the first run it started turning up numerous errors so I aborted and reseated the ram. I then successfully ran memtest (3 runs) with no errors. OS X appears to run fine but I really haven't used it much yet.
    So what do you guys think? Should I do more testing? Am I good to go? I'm still a little concerned that I got errors the first time even with new ram. Could there be some inherent problem with my MBP? Thanks for the advice.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Until your machine starts behaving strangely I wouldn't worry too much. The first batch of errors on the current chips could have simply been because they weren't quite seated properly. Of course, keep your data well backed up at all times nonetheless. :)
     
  3. cardsdoc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Shaker Hts, OH
    #3
    Sounds reasonable. Maybe I'll run memtest a few more times to be sure.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Yeah, just remember that Memtest isn't perfect at finding the errors. :)
     
  5. cardsdoc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Shaker Hts, OH
    #5
    I just ran it again (3 runs) with no problems. Is there other memory diagnostic software you would recommend?
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Nup. Memory testing software is intrinsically bad at finding the errors. The single best way of testing your RAM is through trial-and-error and chip swapping.
     
  7. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    If you have FinalCut HD/Pro/studio, set up a project for rendering and let 'er rip.
    FinalCut beats up RAM badly, and will crash if there is any problem.

    Also, there is the Apple HArdware test, and TechTool Pro that you can run.
     

Share This Page