Memory for late 2009 Mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by manowar, May 19, 2013.

  1. manowar macrumors regular

    manowar

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    #1
    could someone please tell me the difference between the following Ram:

    DDR3 ECC 1066 MHz and DDR3 1066 MHz

    its the ECC, i have the chance to buy 16gb of ram from pc world for £62 and i just want to know if i should
     
  2. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #2
  3. manowar thread starter macrumors regular

    manowar

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    #3
    i have installed 1 of the 4GB stick and it says ok

    [​IMG]
     
  4. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #4
    Nice! Then you should be fine :)

    Apple tech docs only mention ECC.

    I think it would be worth running a memory test overnight to see if any errors pop up.

    Also it's astounding to see ECC Memory mix with non ECC memory.
     
  5. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #5
    Using NON-ECC + ECC memory with an ECC system will disable the error-checking and correcting ability on rest of your memory modules. While your system may still operate fine, the features of the ECC modules will no longer be active in your computer.

    I ask then, what is the point of using a workstation with Xeon chip like Mac Pro ?
     
  6. manowar thread starter macrumors regular

    manowar

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    #6
    bax2003 I am still very new to Mac Pro, so thats why i keep asking the questions.
     
  7. Tesselator, May 21, 2013
    Last edited: May 21, 2013

    Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #7
    Yeah, you should remove the non-ECC module. Sell it if you don't have another use for it. Then use the money to buy a matching DIMM (same maker and same spec is best if you can).

    Also you will run into troubles like that. You must install memory in pairs for your machine.

    If it were me I would ditch all of that RAM and buy four 4GB ECC DIMMs. That should be about $150 ~ $175 (±)
     
  8. myuserid08 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #8
    Amazon are selling Crucial 4GB ECC (CT51272BA1067) sticks for £24.94 - I just bought the last one and have 3 more on order. Estimated delivery time is 2 weeks though.
     
  9. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #9
    Don't get me wrong, am not accusing you, calling names or anything :)

    You must know what are differences, pros and cons of machine that you are buying.
    For Mac Pro they are: OS X, stability (one of reasons is using ECC), speed, built quality, beauty, excellent cooling and it has every type of connectivity that i require.
     
  10. manowar thread starter macrumors regular

    manowar

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    #10
    i always find this forum helpful. I'll still looking into ECC ram :)
     
  11. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #11
  12. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #12
    ECC is important for data integrity and 24/7 stability, but not so much in a creative workstation. As 16GB of ECC is going to be £115 I'd stick with what you have bought if you are using it for image, video or audio work.
     
  13. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #13
    So just out of curiosity is the single unpaired 4GB module still installed? If so how much and what have you been using your mac for mostly? Any crashes or problems?

    Just curious. :)
     
  14. manowar thread starter macrumors regular

    manowar

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    #14
    i now have 2 4GB sticks installed and i've had 0 problems. I use the Mac for Final Cut, Garageband and iPhoto
     
  15. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #15
    Ah, you added a second stick to match it? Ya, there should be no problems with that then. Your screenshot above shows a single 4GB stick which is what i was asking about. :)
     

Share This Page