MEMORY FOR MID-2010 MINI

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by RUGGLES99, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. RUGGLES99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    #1
    I think I keep ordering the wrong 16gb ram kit. Which one is the correct 16 gb kit, specs too please. The 16 gb Crucial kit I just got from Amazon didn't work. TIA
     
  2. visegripmikey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    #2
  3. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #3
    You need PC3-8500 (1066 MHz) DDR3 SO-DIMMs.
    You may get a faster chip to work, but correct specs is always your best choice. :D
    Not Registered, not buffered, not ECC, get the right speed.

    If you can't get the 16GB kit that you want from Crucial (and looks like it's not available from Amazon), then go with an alternate (but good) memory supplier - who DOES have the right chips to sell
    http://www.datamemorysystems.com/dm50-224-1-x-2/
     
  4. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #4
    Muskin ram that has an "a" after the number. Made specifically for the 2010 mini and 13" macbook pro to upgrade to 16gbs.
     
  5. Kaida macrumors regular

    Kaida

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Location:
    Singapore
  6. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #6
    You lucked out and/or the specs on newer ram fits within the picky 2010 MBP/MacMini performance set. This is good news because you can use this ram on a newer machine if you ever ditch your 2010.

    P.S. I'm thinking of going back to a 2010 MMini as they are workhorses.
     
  7. Kaida macrumors regular

    Kaida

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    Yes, 2010 is very picky with rams which I posted a similar thread asking which ram are those owners using. I have alot of DDR3 which failed to work on the 2010 unless I was using 1 of the original ram from the mm2010 itself. Example, most of the 1600/1333 doesn't work until it is pair up with the original 1066 ram which both will then run at 1066.

    Most with the exception of this Crucial Mac pair of ram that I have list above. This pair of Crucial "lucked out" for me.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #8
    This is pretty unusual, as per my own experience. Never seen a 2010 take 1333 ram: Crucial must be very good with their specs. Good for you!
     

Share This Page