Memory HOG! I think I spoiled my Mac

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Bushwood, Feb 26, 2014.

1. Bushwood macrumors member

I have an early '11 MacBook Pro 15", running Mavericks.

Last week, I'd had enough of the slow running, pausing, crashing and, with the help of a "Genius" determined the problem was DRAM. The machine had 4 GB and was using 3.60-3.99 GB during normal usage. For me, normal usage is Mail, Safari, Word and PowerPoint. I'm a marketing consultant, so the computer doesn't have a lot of heavy lifting - just words.

I upgraded to two 8 GB chips. The "About This Mac" shows Memory at 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3.

The computer is MUCH faster. Everything moves like it's new again. But the memory usage is climbing... fast! I installed the 16 GB yesterday. It showed usage at 3.85-4.10. By the end of the day, memory usage was at 5.5 GB. Today - right now, it's at 8.62 GB.

Is this normal? Is my laptop going to max out by Friday and have me ordering 32 GB?

Thanks!

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

Totally normal. Mavericks is very aggressive about using memory to cache data and apps and it is normal to see that number climb as you use it.

As long as that green memory pressure bar at the bottom of Activity Monitor stays green, you have plenty of system memory. Give this a read.

3. DeltaMac macrumors 604

DeltaMac

That won't happen, for one main reason.
    You have the maximum of 16 GB of memory installed, and upgrading to 32 GB is not possible, at least on your model.

Most users here will say that free memory is just wasted memory, and you can see your MBPro use plenty of memory, and now you have given your Mac more to use. Expect it to use that memory.
    The problem (and your question) is if by using up all the memory, that your system begins to slow down again. I don't expect that to happen with your use.