Memory issue...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by musok, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. musok macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #1
    Good afternoon!
    I've a Macbook Pro Core Duo 1.83ghz. It came with 512mb, i bought 1gb and now i bought 2gb (memory of course). Anyway, now i'm trying to use 2gb memory with 1gb memory so i can get 3gb! Well, when i try this and turn on the computer it just appears me the black screen as it doesnt turn on and the sleep light doing the fade like it was sleeping, but doesn't initiate the OS.
    Anyone know how i can solve this problem?
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
  3. musok thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #3
    yes it works just with the 2gb memory chip.
    really? is there anyway to escape from that limit?
     
  4. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

    kastenbrust

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #4
    No
     
  5. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #5
    Hardware limit for that motherboard.

    Core Duo supports 2gb
    Core 2 Duo supports 3gb
    Core 2 Duo with Santa Rosa supports 4gb
    Unibody MBP 15" supports 6gb
    Unibody MBP 17" supports 8gb
     
  6. musok thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #6
    i see... i didn't know about that limit.
    thanks!
     

Share This Page