Memory issues on latest beta

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by torukawahata, Dec 4, 2015.

  1. torukawahata macrumors member

    torukawahata

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    #1
    Is anyone having issues with the latest beta? Before that I could open photoshop and just do some light editing. On the current beta the fans start going crazy, And the computer itself feels sluggish! On a MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013) 8gb of memory. Logic pro also is crashing like crazy
     
  2. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #2
    Logic Pro isn't "officially supported" on el cap since it hasn't been updated since the last release of Yosemite. That's not to say it won't work, but as you stated it can/will crash on el cap.
     
  3. torukawahata thread starter macrumors member

    torukawahata

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    #3
    Guess they broke some compatibility on the latest beta then :( when it's not the end of the world though
     
  4. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #4
    I'm sure they're working on an update for Logic. It was the same when Yosemite was released. Should be in the next few weeks (hopefully )
     
  5. felt. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Logic pro works great on 10.11 for me. Memory clean is a free app to free up memory. I thought retina mbp were low performance anyways since the graphics use cpu and there is 4x the amount of information to display?
     
  6. beebarb macrumors 6502

    beebarb

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    #6
    DO NOT USE APPS LIKE MEMORY CLEAN!!

    All these apps ever do is purge what is known as 'inactive' memory.
    Inactive memory is NOT IN USE. It is available for other apps to use, essentially the same as free memory.

    The only difference is that 'Inactive' memory still holds information left over from previously launched apps or opened documents. If the data stored in inactive memory is needed again, the blocks are marked as active, if not they are overwritten as needed.

    RUNNING MEMORY PURGERS SHORTENS THE LIFESPAN OF THE RAM STICKS FOR NO GOOD REASON.
     
  7. torukawahata thread starter macrumors member

    torukawahata

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    #7
    Guys I found the problem! It is actually adobe creative cloud that's causing the CPU spikes!
     

Share This Page