Memory issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by martva, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. martva macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #1
    I'm in the process of upgrading memory for my mid 2010 mac pro.

    I've purchased the following:

    Results for Apple Mac Pro DDR3 (Mid 2010) 2CPU
    Kingston's System Specific Memory

    24GB Kit (3x8GB) - DDR3 1333MHz
    Part Number: KTA-MP1333DRK3/24G
    HTS: 8473.30.1140, ECCN: EAR99

    When this memory is installed in slots 1, 2 and 3 and the mac start as expected. Hardware info displays it is running on 1066 Mhz (same as the previous memory), although the speed of the dimms are 1333Mhz.

    Now I want to use the memory that was in there before the upgrade, but every dimm I put in slot 4 I get the flashing led. Indicating the bad ram.
    Is there a best practice for this? I already followed the best practice of apple. But does not help.
     
  2. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #2
    The Kingston memory is Registered ECC. Mac Pros come with unbuffered ECC when you get them with 1GB, 2GB or 4GB DIMMs from Apple. You can't mix these two types.
     
  3. martva thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #3
    Hmmm. I did not know it was unbuffered... That explains a lot. Thx
     

Share This Page