Memory Limitations

Discussion in 'iMac' started by GazzaMataz, Apr 11, 2007.

  1. GazzaMataz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #1
    Most iMacs have a memory limitation of 2gb. But the G5 and Intel Core Duo machines are 64-bit so should be able to address more memory.

    Is this memory capacity due to the fact that there are not any 2gb modules available for the G5 or Intel Core Duo iMacs or is it a slot limitation?
     
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    The core duos are 32 bit only so 2gb limit.

    Core 2 Duos are 64 bit and support up to 3gb, think it is a logic board limit, IIRC someone put 4gb in there but it only appeared as ~3.4gb or something like that.

    G5's well i haven't heard anything about this.
     
  3. Lycanthrope macrumors 6502a

    Lycanthrope

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    #3
    iMac G5's have only 1 slot available into which you can place a 2GB module - the machine shiped with 512MB in place which is non removable.

    Seems to me a sad state of affairs as I have to now remove the 512MB I bought at some cost a few years back to make space for the 2GB I just ordered today arriving at 2.5GB :mad:

    This is why I'm going to move to a Mac Pro soon...
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    The first gen iMac G5 definitely had 2 slots but i haven't heard of anyone putting more than 2GBs in there.
     
  5. GazzaMataz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #5
    ???

    I just double-checked and my office 20" G5 iMac and it has two memory modules in it so it could in theory have bigger RAM chips installed.
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    depends how much ram you have in there already and what iMac it is. Does it have a built in iSight?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    32-bit
    iMac Core Duo: Two slots of DDR2-PC5300 RAM (2 x 1 GB)

    64-bit
    iMac G5 Revision A/B: Two Slots of DDR-400 PC3200 RAM (2 x 1 GB)
    iMac G5 Revision C (iSight): 512 MB soldered internally + 2 GB DDR2-533 PC4200 (512 MB + 2 GB)
    iMac Core 2 Duo: Two slots of DDR2-PC5300 RAM (2 GB + 1 GB)
     
  8. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #8
    Can you find me where that happened? Because I would like to find more about this so-called artificial limit on C2D iMacs.
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    This has been done to death here already, try a search on "3 Gb"

    It is a hardware limitation of this particular motherboard series.
     
  10. Lycanthrope macrumors 6502a

    Lycanthrope

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    #11
    Sorry, I should have been more specific, indeed it's only the iSight model that has this restriction - fundamentally only means 0.5GB diffeence though of course.
     

Share This Page