Memory Question for iMac 24" 2.8GHZ

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Hatchet, Dec 9, 2007.

  1. Hatchet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    #1
    I'm pretty much sold on getting the 24" iMac 2.8 GHZ.

    However, the price to upgrade to 4Gb's is $700+ extra.

    How is the memory set up in the iMac (2 slots both 2GB each or ?) and how easily is it to install it yourself?

    Also, if you could point me to a store such as newegg with the appropriate upgrades to max out to 4GB's, I'd appreciate it.

    Thanks.
     
  2. ndriver182 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #2
    It's extremely easy to install yourself. I don't recommend upgrading with Apple RAM unless you just feel like spending too much money. I recommend OWC ram for significantly less money and it works just fine.

    Loosen one screw on the bottom edge of the monitor and then there's a plastic pull-tap that you pull on and it'll pop the ram out of the slot(s). Pull out the old, put in the new and screw the metal cover back in place. 5 minute job.
     
  3. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #3
    Very easy. ...15 minutes max.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306204

    Newegg has the widest selection and (usually) the best prices -- just
    drill down to the correct specs under "Computer Hardware > Memory."
    ...then do it again under "Apple > Mac Memory" for more choices.

    Laptop Memory > 200-Pin DDR2 SODIMM > DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) > ECC NO > CAS Latency 5

    Yep, "Laptop Memory." An iMac is just a notebook CPU/chipset in a
    funny-lookin' package -- with an adult-sized internal hard drive.

    Read the Newegg customers' comments. I like Mushkin, but Crucial
    and OWC (not on Newegg) are also popular and apparently reliable.

    LK
     
  4. Fletchzky macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
  5. MacinDoc macrumors 68020

    MacinDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #5
    Another thing you should do to save money is to buy the 2.4GHz model and upgrade the CPU to 2.8GHz. This way, you only pay for 1GB of Apple's outrageously-priced RAM. In fact, doing it this way, you can get the iMac you want with maxed-out RAM and processor for about $50 less than Apple's standard 2.8GHz config that has 2GB of RAM.
     
  6. serega macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    Does CPU sitting in a socket and possible to replace on IMacs like on desktop computers?
     
  7. psonice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #7
    Swapping the CPU might be possible, but it would void the warranty and it isn't an easy job. I'd not even consider it unless you're comfortable say taking laptops apart.

    Memory is fairly quick + easy to replace, and apple charges so much for upgrades I actually find it offensive! I went for a 2.4ghz 24" with 1gb of ram, upgraded the CPU to 2.8, and bought 4gb of ram from crucial.com - took maybe 10 minutes to install, and saved me a very big pile of money!
     
  8. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #8
    Yes, the CPUs are socketed and it's physically possible to swap them -- but
    there's no telling whether that would cause firmware or software problems.
    Unlike PC's, Apple firmware/software developers have never had to worry
    about writing code that works with every processor/chipset on the market.

    LK
     

Share This Page