Memory Question in new iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by harleymhs, Jul 21, 2013.

  1. harleymhs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys, if I got an iMac with 8 GB of ram ( 4GB x 2 ) could I add 2 more but add (8GB x 2) to make it a total of 24 ? or does it have to be added in pairs like ( 8, 16 or 32 ) total? thanks...
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    No need for pairs, you can add two 8 GB modules and use them with the already existing two 4 GB modules to get 24 GB of RAM.
     
  3. harleymhs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #3
    Thanks... I figured that but JUST wanted to make sure!! Thank you for your QUICK reply !!
     
  4. fa8362 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #4
    In case you don't know, you can only add memory to the 2012 27". The 2012 21.5" does not have user replaceable memory.
     
  5. harleymhs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #5
    Yes, I forgot to mention it was going to be for a 27 " Imac.. Sorry.. Thank you!
     
  6. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Meh, I've upgraded the HDD and GPU of the 2006 iMacs, and those parts aren't user replaceable.
     
  7. harleymhs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #7
    I upgraded to the the 512 SSD and the GTX680 GPU and i7 3.4 ... Should be pretty fast... I will use bootcamp for some gaming and WORK.. and the OSx for the rest...
     

Share This Page