Memory Question: Mac/Windows

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by maureens, Jul 9, 2008.

1. maureens macrumors newbie

Hello there,

I am new at Mac and quite stupid. Please bear with me as my computer speak is embarrassing.

I have a Mac Mini, it has both Windows and Mac OS (they operate completely independently). A long time ago, I managed to redistribute the memory between each system. I remember vaguely what the window looked like but I can't find it again. It had a little toggle bar that you moved along to adjust the amount of memory on each side. For the life of me I can't find it. I've checked everything on preferences with no luck. If anyone knows what I'm talking about I'd be very grateful for your help.

Secondly, a while ago I downloaded a program that enabled me to see where the memory on my Mac is distributed. I'm trying to find it again but I can't remember what it was called. I downloaded it from a website and once I'd finished with it and closed it it deleted itself.

Any suggestions? Thank you!

2. Watabou macrumors 68040

Watabou

So you are running VMWare Fusion right? If so, all you do is go into Settings after Windows is shut down in the virtual machine. And then you go the memory tab on the left and you can adjust the memory. I also attached what the windows look like:

And also, you see to be having problems installing an application. So when you download an application, it goes to the Download stack in the dock, providing you have Leopard. Click on the downloaded disk image (.dmg) or file and then it will most likely place a what seems to be a hard disk on the desktop and you have to double click on it and then follow the instructions on the screen when it pops up. Usually you have to move the image into your applications folder.

Attached Files:

3. richard.mac macrumors 603

richard.mac