Memory Question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by PP133, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. PP133 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys, I'm thinking of ordering a Mac Pro but I'm still crunching all the numbers and getting all of the specifics.

    I was thinking of ordering it with 2GB of memory and then buying 8GB (4x2GB sticks) from MacSales. If I get four 2GB sticks, can I also use the two 1GB sticks that came with the MP, for a total of 10GB?

    TIA
     
  2. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    Technically, yes you can. I have a Mac Pro at the office configured that way.

    However, it's not entirely optimal because FB-DIMMs perform better when every slot is populated with an identical module. But I didn't want the stock 2GB of RAM to go to waste, so...
     
  3. PP133 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #3
    Yo, thx for the reply.

    So does it run slower or is the memory less reliable if you're using different sticks?
     
  4. MaddMacs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Flagstaff, Az
    #4
    Not noticably slower. There was an aritcle from barefeats here on the forum on this subject. Only in bench tests was it apparent that it could run a bit slower. I have the configuration that you are looking to get and it screams.:)
     
  5. TheStrudel macrumors 65816

    TheStrudel

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #5
    Same here. Now, if only more apps would be 64-bit...it'd be nice to store small Final Cut projects and large prints entirely in memory... Though Snow Leopard's neat looking OpenCL and Grand Central should speed things up, hard drives will still be the bottleneck for the foreseeable future - be nice to hit them as infrequently as possible when working...
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    I agree. :)

    RAID can make a drastic improvement, but it can be daunting if someone hasn't any experience with it, and expensive. The additional drives at a minimum, but particularly for a RAID card solution. :eek:
     

Share This Page