Memory (RAM) upgrade in 2008 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by NOV, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. NOV macrumors 6502

    NOV

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #1
    I had some issues when upgrading RAM in 2 Mac Pro's. In my own Mac Pro I installed 32 Gb to replace the the current 16 Gb. I had to do some restarts because the Mac hung on a total 'white' screen: the Apple logo became not visible. I could resolve it by booting from the Snow Leopard DVD and choosing the correct boot drive. After that all is fine.

    Then I installed the 16 Gb in the Mac Pro of a relative who has Moutain Lion. Strangely enough in the start up the Apple logo appeared but then a progress bar appeared. After some minutes the progress bar stopped and the machine turned itself off.

    This relative also uses Bootcamp and we did not have any issue booting with Win7 (installed on a different drive).

    I'm confused by what's going on. The only thing I can think of is that Mac OSX and especially Mountain Lion is very picky when it comes to installing new memory??
     
  2. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #2
    Post the exact spec and brand of memory you installed. Maybe you didn't purchase the correct type or you have a dud strip?
     
  3. NOV thread starter macrumors 6502

    NOV

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    Hi Daniel,
    thanks for your time.

    The 16Gb I installed came directly from my Mac Pro and went into a 100% compatible MacPro (both early 2008 types). Also through Bootcamp you can without any issue start Win7 with those 16Gb RAM in the MP. So this imo rules out the possibility that there is some deficiency with the RAM itself.
     

Share This Page