Memory requirement for Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by M.Ford, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. M.Ford macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #1
    Hi all,

    I recently ordered a mac pro and decided to stay at 2GB of memory. I am wondering about upgrading to 4GB but I am not sure that is necessary. I come from a windows background and know that memory management on the Mac is completely different and better than Windows so I have no frame of reference on the memory needs. Any information offered would be much appreciated.
     
  2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #2
    well it totally depends on what you'll be running on the machine. you need to post what apps you'll be running and how intensive you'll be running them.
     
  3. Banacek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #3
    OSX loves to have more memory. I would recommend upgrading unless you really can't swing it.
     
  4. AZBigBear macrumors newbie

    AZBigBear

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    I come from a Windows background too and recently purchased a Mac Pro. I bought an additional 2GB of RAM (third party) and have burned through it quickly running several VMware Fusion sessions at once. If you plan on running virtual OS instances in the background, I recommended 4GB or more. Throw on some video editing and photo editing too and you will eat up 4GB pretty quick.

    Enjoy your new Mac Pro. It is a great machine.
     
  5. ekwipt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #5
  6. M.Ford thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #6
    I am planning to do video and picture editing. Some games but not too many.
     
  7. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Well.. video editing can use alot of RAM...! Final Cut Pro..?

    Some games.... you mean Crysis in Windows Vista x64...?

    Nah.. seriously.. I see 4 GB (4 x 1 GB sticks) as the sweet-spot for Leopard.
    Ofcourse more is better, and leaving room for an additional 4 x 1 GB is good practice.
     
  8. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    ithink 2 gb is just not enough when running 8 core cpus, im awaiting another 8 at the mo and am feeling it.
     
  9. M.Ford thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #9
    That is interesting and I thank you for the responses. I will probably go with 2 for now then upgrade soon. The machine was enough money for one month :p (and no, not crysis though I am interested in how it would run. I am WoW guy)
     
  10. drrich2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    #10
    Hi:

    One thing I didn't notice skimming this thread was the advisement that Apple's reputed to price-gouge people on RAM upgrades; people seem to like Other World Computing for buying more RAM, although a number of vendors are used by some folks (i.e.: Crucial).

    Richard.
     
  11. overcast macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #11
    In my experience, 4GB seems to be the sweet spot for OSX and general multitasking usage. Of course, if you do need more than that, you already know it.
     
  12. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #12
    The first month I just went ahead and ordered 8x2gb (total of 16gb to get the maximum output) and couldnt be happier. Pretty much runs through whatever you throw at the Mac Pro. :D
     

Share This Page