Memory Setup Help Please

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jeremycrook, Dec 16, 2012.

  1. jeremycrook macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Stokenchurch
    #1
    I was hoping someone could help me.

    I have just got a Imac 27 I3 3.2ghz and upgraded the memory ram.

    at the moment I have 2 x 4gb in Bank 0 and 1 x 2GB, 1 x 1GB in Bank 1. Have I done the right set up or do I have to buy a 2GB to match the other 2GB?

    I am really confused help would be great.

    Cheer Jez:confused:
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Your RAM setup is fine. All 4 RAM modules don't have to match, although there is a slight benefit to using matched pairs.

    MR Guide to Matched RAM on Intel Macs
     
  3. jeremycrook thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Stokenchurch
    #3
    Hi thanks for the reply I have the matching 1gb ram should I replace the 2gb for the 1gb would that make it run better?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Not likely. Generally speaking, having more RAM with unmatched pairs outweighs the benefit from having less RAM with matched pairs. Read the link I posted for details.
     
  5. 2012Tony2012 macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #5
    I have mismatched RAM, 1GB RAM module that came with my 2007 iMac in slot 2 and a new $30 2GB RAM Module I bought from my local PC store in slot 1, and it has made my iMac run lighting fast and smooth.:D
     

Share This Page