Memory size?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fyyy, Oct 3, 2008.

  1. fyyy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    #1
    I have this Macbook Pro of 2.33GHz processor. It came with 2G memory. I recently bought 2x2G memory and upgraded it. The weird thing is, when I open 'About this Mac', it shows 4G memory. But in the Activity Monitor, only shows 3G memory in total. anybody knows why??

    Thanks!
     
  2. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Location:
    Neander Valley, Germany; just outside Duesseldorf
    #2
    Your Calistoga chipset's memory controller is 32-bit. "About" tells you what's physically installed; "Activity" tells you how much it can use.
     
  3. fyyy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
  4. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Location:
    Neander Valley, Germany; just outside Duesseldorf
    #4
    It's probably addressing 3.2 or 3.3 gb, so you're losing 0.8 to 0.7 gb. But by using identical chips (2x2 gb) you get dual-channel performance boost (probably only a couple of percents).
     
  5. fyyy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for the reply, but it is showing 3.00G

    I just found another post says that the max memory supported on my computer is 3G. so should I use one of the original 1G memory and one of the 2Gs?
     
  6. aleksandra. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #6
    As someone already mentioned, by using identical stick you should get some speed improvement (though I don't think it'd be much noticeable). So unless you plan to sell it or something, better use the 2GB one.
     

Share This Page