Memory Testing

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lugesm, Sep 14, 2007.

1. lugesm macrumors 6502a

lugesm

Just ordered 2GB module from OWC for my 24" Intel 2.4GHz iMac to bring the machine up to 3GB total.

Some of the literature strongly suggests testing the newly installed memory immediately after installation.

Would greatly appreciate advice from those of you who have already done this. Is there a "best" test method?
    If so, is it difficult? I have lots of electronics experience, but I am new to the Mac.

Thanks in advance . . . . .
    L

2. netnothing macrumors 68040

netnothing

After installing the RAM, you can run the Apple Hardware test
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303081

Make sure to run the Extended Testing...it will take longer, but worth it.

Then I would also recommend downloading Rember:
    http://www.kelleycomputing.net:16080/rember/

You can run a few passes of that with as much RAM allocated as possible.

These will help test the memory.

But to be honest, the best test is just using your system.

When I got my new memory, one of the things I did was a massive iPhoto import (over 13,000 images). This tested the memory great. On my first set it showed lots of ECC errors in the System Profiler when doing that import, while the Apple Hardware test and Rember didn't show anything.

-Kevin

3. GavinTing macrumors 6502

GavinTing

4. lugesm thread starter macrumors 6502a

lugesm

Gavin,

I have read the item you reference, but I wanted to read the experiences of others taking the same path. Personal experience of others is always valuable, and I have found most members here both helpful and resourceful.

Regards,
    L

5. EricNau Moderator emeritus

EricNau

I used memtest, just as the guide suggested.

Worked wonderfully. :)

6. ZeratulsAvenger macrumors newbie

I recently purchased memory from OWC for my Mac Mini and wanted to test it out and I would suggest more that simply running Rember.