Memory Upgrade?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Laurencia7, Oct 7, 2012.

  1. Laurencia7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys,

    My Macbook 5,2 is running really slow these days. I have upgraded the 120 GB to a 500 GB last year, and now it has around 120 GB of room left. Should I dump some files? I mean most of them I really need. Or upgrade the HD?

    Also, it only has the 2GB of ram, if I just upgrade the Ram to 4GB or 6GB would that help at all?

    Specs:
    Macbook 5,2 A1181
    2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM


    I found a few upgrades online but they say they are for my model, but have 204 pins not 200 and are DDR3, would they even work?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    120GB is plenty of free space. A SSD would be faster than a HDD, however.
    Depending on your typical workload, it may help. To determine if you can benefit from more RAM, launch Activity Monitor and click the System Memory tab at the bottom to check your page outs. Page outs are cumulative since your last restart, so the best way to check is to restart your computer and track page outs under your normal workload (the apps, browser pages and documents you normally would have open). If your page outs are significant (say 1GB or more) under normal use, you may benefit from more RAM. If your page outs are zero or very low during normal use, you probably won't see any performance improvement from adding RAM.

    Mac OS X: Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor

    If you're having performance issues, this may help:
     
  3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    Only you can decide if you need more storage, but a memory upgrade is highly recommend...I'd take it up to the Max.

    Corsair's online Memory tool will identify what you can use in your Mac.

    http://www.corsair.com

    Just hit the memory upgrade tab whist on your Mac.
     
  4. Laurencia7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #4
    [​IMG]

    The corsair site, does not have my laptop listed as a model.
    I will look into getting more memory, these are stats...with only safari and handbrake running/ 2 programs.
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
  6. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    Well from that you can see that you only have 26MB free RAM. Thats nothing. Upgrade it, you will need 200 pin DDR2 667MHz RAM. Your model supports up to 6GB of RAM, 1 x 4GB and 1 x 2GB sticks. Your MacBook will feel astonishingly faster with more RAM.

    Also From your screenshot you can see that your CPU is being used a alot. You said you are using VLC, were you playing a hd video at the time?
    Please post a screenshot from the activity monitor. Select the RAM tab aswell as choose all processes at the top right and click on the CPU bar to make sure highest numbers are at the top.
     
  7. Laurencia7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #7
    [​IMG]

    Thx, I found a 4GB stick online, and if I keep one of my 1GB stick, it will make 5 GB. I can't afford a 2GB with a 4GB right now. I was not watch a video, Handbrake is a video converting software, I was converting a small video. Most of the time that's the reading I get though.
     
  8. LaunchpadBS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    iLondon/iDurban
    #8
    OP I think you might need to bite the bullet here, that money you plan to spend on memory and an SSD might be better spent on a new MBP(or at least a 2012 refurb). Cause 667MHz ram if you can find it will cost a bit and even then it's still slow and limited in size. And there's not guarentee an SSd will work properly in your MBP, I know I had issues with my late 2008 model MBP.

    My suggestion is sell your macbook and get a new one, you wont need to upgrade the ram or hdd and it'll be exponentially faster than what you have now.

    Food for thought.
     
  9. Laurencia7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #9
    Well I just installed my new 4GB of Ram, not sure if it's much faster but seems like it, a little. As for buying a new Macbook, I would love to. But I don't have the money. So I found this Ram for 40 bucks, should limp me over another year or so.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    Thought you are installing a 4GB and 1GB stick?
    The MB wont feel faster directly, the ram increase will stop it from slowing down over the time you are using it.
    That MB should be fine for some more time, they are very good machines and if you don't need the power of the newer ones there isn't really a point in upgrading.
     
  11. Laurencia7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #11
    The 4GB stick was too expensive, and they recommend keeping each module the same GB number. Maybe sometime I'll try a 4x4GB module set but my MB might not allow 8gb.
     
  12. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #12
    I know what you mean, they go for like 60-80.
    It is quicker if models are the same as it has dual channel then, but the difference between two same models and two different ones is so minimal you will never notice it. Usually more RAM outweighs dual channel or faster RAM a lot.
    Your MB will support 6GB. 1x4GB and 1x2GB.
     

Share This Page