Resolved Memory Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by igorcv88, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. igorcv88, Feb 3, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2013

    igorcv88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1
    Hi, I have an Early 2011 Macbook Pro and I want to purchase a memory, it has two 2GB installed. Can I purchase a 8GB memory and install it with one of the 2GB that I have already installed? Or, can I have just one 8GB installed?
    One more question, how do I know if my Macbook is compatible with a 1GHz memory (Corsair - 2-Pack 4GB 1.0GHz DDR3 SoDIMM Laptop Memory Kit)


    My Macbook has 15 inch, Processor 2 GHz Intel Core i7, Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3.
     
  2. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    You can add just one 8GB so you have 10GB total
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    I never heard "1.0 GHz" being used with RAM, but then again, Best Buy seems to do that.

    You need to get 1333 MHz* 204-pin DDR3 SO-DIMM RAM from any reputable source available in Brazil.
    You can either get one 8 GB module and use it with the already present 2 GB module or just use the 8 GB module alone.



    * 1333 MHz is 1.333 GHz, 1066 MHz (an older spec) should be listed as 1.1 GHz, seems the RAM you look at is a bit older
     
  4. joshhedge macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #4
    Ignore robvas. Do not mismatch RAM modules, it will only lead to reduced performance and potential instability of the system.
     
  5. igorcv88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Location:
    Brazil
    #5
    So, what do you think is the best, 1.0 GHz or 1.3 GHz?
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Not reduced performance, using two modules of the same capacity gives about 10% more performance, using two mismatched modules does not take away non existent performance. And that 10% speed boost are hardly recgonisable.

    Btw, I used one 2 GB and one 4 GB module for months (when they were much more expensive than nowadays) and had no stability issues, but that is a singular event and not a proven fact of course.

    ----------

    Since your modules uses 1333 MHz modules, 1.3 GHz (maybe give us a link, since this GHz business is quite confusing and not standard and only seems to e aimed at advertising a big number (GHz sound better than 1,000 MHz I presume)) is the way to go.
     
  7. igorcv88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Location:
    Brazil
    #7
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Corsair...oductCategoryId=abcat0506002&id=1218531579755
     

Share This Page